Mini rainbow vanilla bean donuts

I have a mini donut pan that I have only used once or twice.  I am really trying to make an effort to use all of the crazy, one-use baking pans I have.  I thought I would make vanilla donuts for breakfast this morning.  But, then I was thinking, what isn’t made better with the addition of vanilla bean?  Umm…nothing.  So, I threw that in too.  But, I didn’t want to make plain old vanilla donuts.  I wanted to wow my children a bit.  But how? I thought of my daughter Sammie and her favorite color, rainbow.  So, I’ll make rainbow donuts!!

I just love how these turned out.  But let me warn you, they do take a bit of time and lots of dishes.  The batter is super easy to put together, taking only minutes.  The time comes from dividing the batter into 6 colors, dying them, putting them into piping bags, piping them and then baking them.  The big problem I discovered was that I only have one pan.  I put the 12 on table and I thought my children, who usually eat like birds would each have like 2, and my husband would have the other 6.  Nope.  They inhaled them in about 1 minute.  My husband was lucky to grab one out of Sammie’s hand and pop it into his mouth before she knew what was happening.  So, then it took me awhile to get the next pan prepared for the oven and baked.  Meanwhile everyone was waiting, impatiently, and starving.  Two notes to self:  buy 2 more donut pans and do not start a project like this unless you get up way before everyone else.  But, let me say these were delicious donuts.  They were so light and fluffy.  And, the vanilla bean gave them the perfect extra shot of vanilla flavor.  So, while these may take a bit of extra time and effort, these donuts will be a delicious, showstopping breakfast for your children.  And, based on Sammie and Jack’s happy faces, I must say, time well spent. 😀

Mini rainbow vanilla bean donuts

Donut batter:

2 cups all purpose flour, sifted
3/4 cup granulated sugar
2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
3/4 cup buttermilk
1 tsp. vanilla extract
2 eggs, lightly beaten
2 tbsp. butter, melted
Seeds from one vanilla bean

Preheat oven to 425°F. Spray donut pan with nonstick cooking spray.

In large mixing bowl, sift together all purpose flour, sugar, baking powder and salt. Add buttermilk, eggs, vanilla extract, vanilla seeds and butter and beat until just combined.  I divided the batter into 6 bowls and colored them with Americolor gels – red, orange, yellow, green, blue, purple.

Scrape each colored batter into a separate small sandwich bag.  I put each bag into a small glass for support.  Cut a small hole from the corner of the red bag and press gently to place a big dot of batter into the well.  Do the same with the orange.  The red will have spread a bit, so place the orange so it overlaps by about 1/2.  Continue around the well with yellow, green, blue and ending with the purple to complete the donut.  They should be about half full.

Bake 4-8 minutes or until the top of the donuts spring back when touched. Let cool in pan for 4–5 minutes before removing. Finish doughnuts with vanilla glaze. Doughnuts are best served fresh.

 
Vanilla glaze
1 cup confectioner’ s sugar
1 tbsp whole milk   I used heavy cream, but I had to add almost 4 tbsp to get it to the consistency I wanted.
½ tsp. vanilla extract
Food coloring optional
sprinkles   optional

In small bowl, stir together sugar, milk (or heavy cream- start with 1Tbsp, and slowly add more until you get the right consistency) and vanilla extract until sugar is completely dissolved.  If using, add food coloring and stir until color is uniform.  Use immediately to glaze doughnuts.  Sprinkle on nonpareils if using.

Source: Sprinkle Bakes

rainbow donuts tray

Previous Post
Leave a comment

69 Comments

  1. Nobody should be allowed to have this kind of talent and get away with it 😉
    Your sweet ideas and creativity blow me away! I wish I wish you would release a baking book my friend!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Reply
  2. Look how pretty! And what a coincidence, rainbow is my favorite color, too. ^_^

    Reply
  3. I was just griping at the grocery store the other day for no plain cake donuts. I love the plain ones with coffee. Your rainbow colored donuts do look really eye catching, no wonder everyone ran to the table and gobbled them down! You know it is a success when the food disappears in a blink. Very creative with the rainbow colors-great post!

    Reply
  4. How cute are these! I am impressed! As an avid baked donut maker, these need to be made!

    Reply
    • Thanks so much Nicole! You have some amazing baked donuts on your blog just waiting to become rainbow ;D

      Reply
  5. These are so cute! What a great mama you are 🙂 My little one is still a little young to fully appreciate these but I will definitely be making these once he gets a little older!

    Reply
    • Thanks Heather. You’re sweet. My daughter was already asking for rainbow donuts for breakfast this morning. 😀 Soon enough, I bet your son will love these too.

      Reply
  6. These are so cool! They remind me of a bigger version of Froot Loops. If I ever buy a donut pan, I will need to make these!

    Reply
  7. These are just ridiculous, Kim! I love them!

    Reply
  8. these look awesome!

    Reply
  9. These are so pretty! I love them. I need to make them and take them to my kids at school-they will adore them!

    Reply
  10. FANTASTIC!!! and I love that you are a rainbow person…me too:) I did a rainbow cake for my daughter’s first birthday (http://www.anythingbutpickles.com/rainbowcake/) and rainbow cupcakes (http://www.anythingbutpickles.com/rainbow-cupcakes/) that are fairly similar in process. Your post totally makes me want to try rainbow donuts now!

    Reply
  11. Yes ma’am…I love this recipe and presentation. This is a must try and share! I will be sending out your recipe and blog link to all my followers on all my social medias. You have a culinary fan right here! Take Care!

    Reply
  12. barbara

     /  May 10, 2012

    I wonder if these would work in one of the mini donut maker machines….

    Reply
    • Good question Barbara. Hmmm…I’ve never used one of those before. Do you have to preheat it? If not, I can’t see why this batter would behave differently.

      If you do have to preheat it, it might take too long to set up the batter in the rainbow pattern and you would risk them being overcooked. If you try it, let me know how they turn out 😀 Thanks!

      Reply
  13. These looks absolutely lovely. I have yet to make donuts, but this is reason enough! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Reply
  14. Total genius! I love these! I am thinking I’ll post a link for a pool party inspiration – these would be adorable! hugs! Kim @ Party Frosting!

    Reply
    • Thanks so much Kim! What a cute idea! Little inner tubes 😀 I love it! You have so many really cute party ideas on your site!

      Reply
  15. How stinkin’ cute are these? I love the bright, multi-colored doughnuts, they are so much fun! Great job and super creative idea!

    Reply
  16. we go crazy for donuts and these are amazing! i love that her favorite color is rainbow. that’s so cute.

    Reply
  17. Love these! So cute and colorful!

    Reply
  18. khalilah

     /  May 25, 2012

    Love your work. Friend found you on pintrest. I was looking for pool party ideal. Now I love your ideals. Keep up the good work. Especially love ideal my daughter(4) who loves to cook can help with.

    Reply
    • Thanks you so much! You’re sweet 😀 That’s a cute idea. I love to cook with my daughter too.

      Reply
  19. khalilah

     /  May 25, 2012

    What if you don’t have a donut pan. How else can you make these. Please find a way and share.

    Reply
    • The only thing I can think of is to use a mini muffin pan. They won’t hold the same design, but they will look like rainbow swirled cupcakes that taste like donuts. Still cute and still delicious. They may take a bit longer to bake, so I would keep a close eye on them. But if you want, donut pans are pretty cheap, just around $10. Let me know how they turn out.

      Reply
  20. so insanely beautiful!

    Reply
  21. These are adorable – how fun!

    Reply
  22. I am in love!!

    Reply
  23. awwwww super cute…

    Reply
  24. Hi there! I was wondering can this be made using a bundt pan?

    Reply
  25. Brooke

     /  January 31, 2013

    awesome

    Reply
  26. My dough came out real thick. What did i do wrong??

    Reply
    • Hmmm, it’s hard to say. Maybe you were a bit heavy handed with the flour? That’s the hardest part about baking- there can be such a variance when filling a measuring cup. I like to bake by weight whenever one is provided to avoid this problem. Mine wasn’t really thin, otherwise it would have spread out too much, not maintaining the stripes.

      Reply
  27. Lucille Hall

     /  March 25, 2013

    Please tell me where you were able to purchase your mini doughnut pan. I have looked at Walmart, Target and Michael’s. I can’t wait to make these. Thanks in advance for you response.

    Reply
    • Hi Lucille! I bought mine on Amazon. But, I’ve seen them at Bed Bath & Beyond. Do you have one of those by you?

      Reply
  28. Lucille Hall

     /  March 27, 2013

    Thank you so much for your reply. I was out yesterday and found the pan at Kohl’s. I am so excited. I can’t wait to make these pretty treats!

    Reply
  29. Paula

     /  June 3, 2013

    These look amazing 🙂 Just an idea to save on dishes…you could divide the batter into the sandwich bags and then add the food colouring 🙂

    Reply
  1. Rainbow donuts! | Chickabug
  2. 10 of the Best Donut Recipes - Dishin' With Rebelle | Dishin' With Rebelle
  3. Taste the Rainbow! 16 Colorful Rainbow Recipes - Henry Happened
  4. The first ever HOMEMADE DONUTS | thenotsocreativecook
  5. Taste the Rainbow! 16 Colorful Rainbow Recipes
  6. Rainbow Craft & Dessert ideas - Lolly Jane
  7. 17 DIY Lucky Rainbow Crafts to Make - Make and Takes
  8. 30+ St. Patrick’s Day Food and Dessert Ideas | Make It and Love It
  9. 15 Delicious Rainbow Desserts. The Weekly Round Up | Titicrafty by Camila
  10. 15 Delicious Rainbow Desserts. The Weekly Round Up | Titicrafty by CamilaTiticrafty by Camila
  11. A Subtle Revelry | Why don't we... bake with bright frosting colors • A Subtle Revelry
  12. St. Patrick’s Day Pajama Party Ideas
  13. Rainbow Treats - REASONS TO SKIP THE HOUSEWORK
  14. Colorful Rainbow Food Ideas - Princess Pinky Girl
  15. Making Donuts for Donut Day - Will Foods Blog
  16. Fun Finds Friday - Kitchen Fun With My 3 Sons
  17. 27 Sweets & Treats for Your Rainbow Unicorn Party | Mom Spark - A Trendy Blog for Moms - Mom Blogger
  18. Green Candied Popcorn For St Patrick's Day | Skip To My Lou
  19. 40 Delicious Rainbow Recipes For The Whole Family - Earning and Saving with Sarah

Leave a comment

  • Just Baked

    Follow Me on Pinterest
  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Certified Yummly

    Certified Yummly Recipes on Yummly.com
  • Just Baked on Foodgawker

    my foodgawker gallery
  • Just Baked on Tastespotting

    my photos on tastespotting