Glazed Citrus Doodles

I always thought citrus was fine as a flavor, but why choose it if chocolate is available?  But, I have really grown to love it, especially lemon and lime.  But, I just realized that I have never baked anything with orange before. So, when I was flipping through Everyday Food,  I was intrigued by this recipe for glazed citrus doodles.  I love Martha, she never lets me down, so I thought I would give them a try.  The cookie is a simple snickerdoodle base, but minus the cream of tartar.  Then you add orange and lemon zest, which together give the cookie its super refreshing citrus flavor.  And oh my gosh, I am so in love with the smell of zesting citrus fruit!  Although the cookies are delicious as is, they are made even more delicious with the addition of an orange-lemon glaze.  These citrus doodles are the perfect cookies to finally welcome in the warm weather.  So, come on, and get yourself a plate, a tall cold drink and enjoy it.  Here in Chicago, you can never know how long it will last…

Glazed Citrus Doodles

2  3/4 cups all purpose flour (spooned and leveled)

1 Tbsp baking powder

1/4 tsp fine salt

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temp

1 1/2 cups  sugar

2 Tbsp grated orange zest, plus 3 Tbsp juice (2 oranges)

4 tsp lemon zest, plus 3 Tbsp juice (from 2 lemons)

2 large eggs

2 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar

Preheat oven 350F, with racks in upper and lower thirds.  Whisk together flour, baking powder and salt.

In a large bowl, using an electric mixer, beat butter, granulated sugar, 1 Tbsp orange zest, and 2 tsp lemon zest on medium high until pale and fluffy, 3 minutes. Scrape down the bowl as needed.

Beat in eggs, one at a time.  Add flour mixture; beat to combine.

Roll dough into 1 inch balls and place 2 inches apart, on parchment lined baking sheets.

Bake until the edges are lightly golden, 12 to 15 minutes, rotating the sheets halfway through.  Let cool on sheets on wire racks 5 minutes, then transfer cookies to racks and let cool completely.

Whisk together 1 Tbsp orange zest, 2 tsp lemon zest, citrus juices, and confectioners’ sugar until smooth.  You may need to add more confectioners’ sugar to get it to the consistency you want.

With a small spoon, spread glaze over each cookie.  Let set 1 hour. (Store in airtight containers, up to 3 days.)

Source:  Everyday Food

Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. These look and sound fantastic! I love citrus-y flavors, especially in the spring!

    Reply
  2. Sometimes chocolate is too heavy to eat for this hot weather here in Texas, but citrus is perfect. Nice to come across something new in the way of a citrus cookie recipe. They do look pretty tasty-yum!

    Reply
  3. This looks awesome!
    Who could ever say no citrus 😀
    Love that thick glaze!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Reply
  4. Cindy

     /  May 9, 2012

    How do these compare to the Lemonade cookies?

    Reply
    • Hey Cindy!
      To me, these are softer and chewier. They also taste much more of orange. The lemon seems to be there just cut the sweetness of the orange. So, I would say these are really orange cookies vs the lemonade cookies.

      Reply
  5. Cindy

     /  May 10, 2012

    I guess I’ll have to run a taste test! 🙂 Right now I am in the mood to cook out of Flour- do you have that cookbook and if so what have you made? The chocolate chip cookies are PERFECT. 🙂

    Reply
    • Ha! Sounds like a great idea. Let me know how it turns out. I love the Flour cookbook! I’ve made the brownies, Oreos and chocolate cupcakes with magic crispy frosting. I haven’t made the chocolate chip cookies yet, but now I need to 😀 I have some brown bananas, so I’m thinking I might make her famous bread.

      Reply
      • Cindy

         /  May 10, 2012

        OK this is the suggestion I needed: today I am going to make the Oreo dough for a Monday event. I have to plan out baking so that I can give it to somebody (like you do) but since we are retired this year we have no willing teenagers! Just read your post on your experience with the dough- thanks for the tips!

      • You’re welcome Cindy. Let me know how they turn out! They are definitely dangerous, so it’s a good thing you have somewhere to bring them! 😀

  6. I just made these too and plan to blog them soon! I love them so much I have been eating them every night for dessert. Great photo!

    Reply
    • Thanks so much Krissy! They are just so soft, bright and refreshing. I’ve never had cookies so orange in flavor. I loved them too.

      Reply
  7. I am like you; I love citrus desserts but when I have to choose between chocolate and citrus, chocolate almost always wins. I do have a weakness for citrus; the smell, taste, I love it all. These cookies sound amazing; full of flavor and they are beautiful as well. Thanks for sharing and great job!

    Reply
  8. These look really delicious – plus, what a cute name, love it! 🙂

    Reply
  9. Louise Ingram

     /  November 3, 2013

    Made these after seeing Martha on PBS, they are delish. MOnly alteration, added 1/2 teaspoon vanilla to batter, made them even better

    Reply

Leave a Reply

