Peach Barbecue Sauce

I learned so much from my last recipe swap when I made garlic, ginger and scallion shrimp, that I decided to give it another go.  This time the theme was warm weather and BBQ (yay!) and I got a recipe for Peach Barbecue Sauce.  I have never:  made my own barbecue sauce, tasted a fruit based barbecue sauce, cooked with alcohol, blanched fruit, or cut a jalepeno (Umm…inhaling burns).  Lots of firsts, right?  That is why I love these swaps.  While I am a good baker, I am the first to admit I am not the best cook.  These swaps challenge me and I love that!  I actually get to apply my Food Network knowledge and everything I read in my ATK cookbooks.  Fabulous.  The sauce is easy to put together.  You just the blanch and peel the peaches, do some chopping, and measure out the rest of the ingredients.  Then you just let the sauce simmer and reduce, followed by blending to the consistency you like.  We like our sauces smooth.  Oh how I love my Vitamix!   I made some pork tenderloin in the Crock-Pot and finished it on the grill, basting it with the sauce.  I found the sauce to taste like a peach flavored honey mustard sauce, a nice change from the usual tomato based barbecue sauce.

Peach Barbecue Sauce

1 pound fresh peaches

3/4 cup chopped sweet onion such as Vidalia

1 1/2 tablespoons minced fresh jalapeño with seeds   adjust to taste

1 tablespoon canola oil

1/4 cup cider vinegar

1/4 cup bourbon

2 1/2 tablespoons mild honey

2 tablespoons Dijon mustard

3/4 teaspoon light brown sugar

1/4 teaspoon chili powder

1/8 teaspoon dry mustard

1/4 teaspoon kosher salt

Cut an X in bottom of each peach, then blanch in a medium saucepan of boiling water 10 seconds. Transfer with a slotted spoon to a bowl of ice and cold water and cool. Peel peaches and coarsely chop.

Cook onion, jalapeño, and a pinch of kosher salt in oil in a heavy medium saucepan over medium heat, stirring occasionally, until softened, 8 to 10 minutes. Add peaches and remaining ingredients and simmer, uncovered, stirring occasionally, until peaches are very tender, about 30 minutes.

Purée in a blender (use caution when blending hot liquids).

Previous Post
Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. This looks awesome! I’m going to bookmark it for peach season.

    Reply
  2. That sounds wonderful! I’ve never had a fruit based BBQ sauce before either…

    Beautiful photo!

    Reply
  3. Sounds delicious, will definitely have to put this on the menu this summer.

    Reply
  4. A fruity BBQ sauce is such a different but delicious idea – I imagine dipping grilled spiced pineapple in it… Mmmmmm 🙂

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Reply
  5. Ohhh it sounds delicious!

    Reply
  6. That sounds delicious, and perfect for pork!

    Reply
  7. I have never had a fruity BBQ sauce either, but it sounds fantastic!

    Reply
  8. I’m glad you liked it!

    Reply
  9. This is a wonderful mix of sweet and heat! I have had citrus in BBQ but have never tried the peach-however it does intrigue and peach season has just started. Thanks for sharing this!

    Reply
  10. What a great recipe. I love that the swaps are bringing you out of your comfort zone!

    Thanks for being part of the recipe swaps!

    Reply
  11. This sounds wonderful. I have had a few fruit based bbq sauces and I loved them; never had a peach based sauce, so I’m thinking I need to try it out. Thanks so much for sharing; I’ll definitely be making this during the summer!

    Reply

Leave a comment

  • Just Baked

    Follow Me on Pinterest
  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Certified Yummly

    Certified Yummly Recipes on Yummly.com
  • Just Baked on Foodgawker

    my foodgawker gallery
  • Just Baked on Tastespotting

    my photos on tastespotting