Brownie S’mores

Besides my obvious cookbook obsession, I also have a pretty bad cooking magazine obsession as well.  I must subscribe to at least a dozen magazines, even after I recently paired them down.  While I know I could probably get most of the recipes online, I think with all the junk I get, I just really enjoy getting some fun mail that isn’t bills.  It’s probably silly, but I was so happy this morning when I opened the mailbox to see 3 magazines!  Score!  Exciting life I lead I tell you. 😀  Taste of the South magazine is one that I have been getting for several years now.   I always book mark a bunch of recipes in each issue, but then they end up on the shelf, and I forget about them.  I decided to start going through my magazines and at least write down those that really catch my eye, so I don’t miss out on any great recipes.  That is how I came across brownie s’mores.  I thought it was fun to have brownies with a vanilla wafer crust and topped with golden toasted marshmallows. Right from the oven the marshmallows and brownies are the perfect amount of melted gooey deliciousness.  Now that the weather is getting warmer in Chicago, sure I could make some s’mores on the grill one night after we barbecue.  But, here you get 12 perfectly cooked s’mores all at once.  Besides, for some reason, I was never very good at campfire marshmallow cookery.  Most likely because I am not much of a camper.  So, I’ll stick with what I do best.  I’ll take a baked brownie s’more against a plain old graham cracker s’more any day.

Brownie S’mores

Yield: 12 to 16 servings

1 (12-ounce) box vanilla-wafer cookies

2 1/4 cups sugar, divided

3/4 teaspoon kosher salt, divided

1 cup plus 5 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted, divided

5 (1-ounce) squares unsweetened chocolate, melted

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

5 large eggs, at room temperature

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 (16-ounce) bag large marshmallows, each cut in half  (easiest to use kitchen scissors)

2 Hershey Bars  optional

Preheat oven to 350°. Line a (13×9-inch) pan with aluminum foil, letting foil hang over sides of pan. Set aside. In the work bowl of a food processor, pulse together cookies, 1/4 cup sugar, and 1/4 teaspoon salt until mixture is fine. With processor running, slowly add 5 tablespoons melted butter, and continue blending until mixture is well combined. Press crumb mixture firmly into the bottom of prepared pan.

In a large bowl, whisk together remaining 1 cup melted butter and melted chocolate until mixture is well combined. Whisk in remaining 2 cups sugar and vanilla. Add eggs one at a time, whisking constantly, until mixture is smooth and glossy. Whisk in flour and remaining 1/2 teaspoon salt. Pour batter into pan, smoothing top.

Bake until a wooden pick inserted in the center comes out with just crumbs, 30 to 35 minutes. I undercooked mine a bit because I like the gooeyness.  Bake yours longer if you like a more firm brownie texture.  If using, break the Hershey bars into squares and scatter them along the top of the brownie.  Let cool slightly.

Preheat oven to broil. Place marshmallow halves on top of brownies, in rows, as close as possible. Broil until tops of marshmallows are golden brown and puffed, approximately 5 minutes. Let cool slightly before cutting brownies into squares.  But, make sure to cut while still warm. Serve warm.

Source:  Taste of the South Magazine

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. These are giant s’mores with brownie instead of chocolate – heaven? I think so 😀
    Thank you for sharing my friend!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Reply
  2. How tasty are these! We all love smores, but adding a layer of brownies makes them even better. Simply delicious!

    Reply
  3. Wow – these look awesome! I bet they’d taste great with homemade marshmallows too!

    Reply
  4. These look so good! I feel like you need to find a good technique for roasting marshmallows. I like the slow turning method or the light it on fire then blow it out method

    Reply
  5. I love s’mores; they are one of my many weaknesses! These look oh-so-good!

    Reply
  1. 11 S'mores Recipes for Summer - TodaysMama

Leave a Reply

