Funfetti mini pancake muffins

My kids love those little Hostess chocolate chip muffins that come 5 packs to a box for over $4.00.  My son will eat 2 packs each morning for breakfast and that gets expensive.  So, I only buy them when they are buy 1 get 1 free and then I buy like 8 boxes.  But, when I run out, these pancake muffins are the perfect replacement.  I think they taste very similar to the Hostess muffins, but better of course because they are homemade.  Usually I make them with mini chocolate chips because they are Jack’s favorite.  But, I thought it would be fun to change things up a bit and replace the chips with sprinkles to make Funfetti mini muffins.

I decided to surprise my daughter with breakfast for lunch with these muffins.  But, of course Sammie didn’t want muffins.  She wanted turkey.  No bread, just turkey.  Okay then.  So the baby and I ate the muffins, dusted with powdered sugar and dipped in maple syrup.  Alex tore them up.  After Sammie finished her turkey, she decided she would try a muffin…then another and another and another.  She had to make sure they were okay, quality control you know. 😀   I love these muffins too.  They are fluffy, a bit sweet from the maple syrup and sugar, and they really taste like pancakes without all the work.  And now, not only do they taste great, but they are super fun, Funfetti.  Sprinkles makes everything better.  Don’t you think?

Funfetti mini pancake muffins

Yield: 24 mini muffins

1 cup flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons sugar
2/3 cup buttermilk
1 egg
2 tablespoons pure maple syrup
2 tablespoons melted butter
1/3 cup of sprinkles- jimmies (you can adjust depending on how many you like)

Preheat oven to 350F.  Spray a mini muffin pan really well with nonstick spray.

Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and sugar in a medium bowl.  Whisk together the dry ingredients.

In another bowl, stir together the buttermilk, egg, maple syrup and melted butter just until combined.

Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients. Stir with a spatula just until combined.

Stir in the sprinkles.  Bake for 8 to 9 minutes.

Let cool slightly in the pan.  You may need to use a spoon around the edges to separate the pancake muffins from the pan.

Serve immediately dusted with powder sugar or with just maple syrup.

Source:  Bakerella

Leave a comment

22 Comments

  1. Sprinkles definitely make everything better. I was the same as Jack – I used to eat packs of those mini muffins as my breakfast! These look great, Kim!

    Reply
  2. Dragonfly

     /  September 16, 2012

    Seriously, this is what you call breakfast food? Whatever happened to a bowl of cereal and milk? Or fruit? Or toast? Or an egg?

    Reply
    • I do. Not for everyday. But, for a special treat. They are pancake muffins, both of which are breakfast foods. Most other days, my kids eat the other items you suggested. Thank you for your concern 😀

      Reply
  3. How fun and cute is this idea? I love it! I know what I’ll be making for my little man on Saturday morning! He will LOVE it.

    Reply
  4. So much fun! love these 🙂

    Reply
  5. I’ve made mini pancake muffins before, but I never thought to make them funfetti! I’m so sorry I didn’t think of it first. These look wonderful!

    Reply
  6. Donna

     /  July 4, 2013

    Sprinkles make everything so good even with teenagers!

    Reply
  7. Such a cute and fun idea! Who says this isn’t breakfast?? Pancakes and muffins in one! What more could you want?

    Reply
  8. delaney

     /  September 8, 2013

    I used this for a demo in class. they tasted great

    Reply
  9. Ashley

     /  February 10, 2014

    Coul you use regular milk instead of buttermilk?

    Reply
    • Sure. I usually don’t have buttermilk either. So, I add 1 Tbsp of lemon juice to a measuring cup and add milk up to the 1 cup mark.

      Reply
  10. Rachel

     /  April 3, 2014

    These were so wonderful. I surprised my son with these for breakfast on his birthday yesterday. He LOVED them. And so did I. Super cute and tasty!

    Reply
  11. Angela

     /  June 8, 2015

    would these still be good if you made them the night before and warmed up in the microwave in the morning?

    Reply
    • I’ve never done this. But I can’t see why not. They probably won’t be as good- but still good. I reheat leftover pancakes in the toaster oven and they taste good.

      Reply
  12. I made these for breakfast on my son’s birthday, and they were really delicious and so easy to make! I had all the ingredients on hand. These were very much a breakfast item. They tasted exactly like pancakes and were not overly sweet.

    Reply
  13. These are delicious… really taste like a pancake!

    Reply
  1. Funfetti Muffins - American Cupcake Life | American Cupcake Life
  2. 21 Fun Foods To Make With Kids For Mother's Day | Sharing Interesting Stuff, Updates News & Free Tips
  3. Pancake Muffins Recipe And Brengs Silicone Muffin Pan Review!
  4. Mothers Day Food your Kids can make - Kiddy Crafty
  5. 20 Tasty and Fun Breakfast Ideas for Your Kids

Leave a comment

  • Just Baked

    Follow Me on Pinterest
  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Certified Yummly

    Certified Yummly Recipes on Yummly.com
  • Just Baked on Foodgawker

    my foodgawker gallery
  • Just Baked on Tastespotting

    my photos on tastespotting