Flour Bakery’s Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Chocolate chip cookies are my favorite to bake because they are also my favorite to eat.  Though I will say, my kids and my husband can tear them up pretty good too.  😀 I’m not sure how many different recipes I have tried, but it’s a lot.  I am always on the quest for the perfect chocolate chip cookie.  So, I decided to try Flour Bakery’s chocolate chunk cookie because everything I’ve made so far has been delicious.  I have never used bread flour in my chocolate chip cookies, but it is added to make them more thick and chewy.  That’s exactly what I am going for.  And then, oh my goodness this cookie sure does pack a chocolate punch with both semisweet and milk chocolate mixed into the dough.  This recipe uses chocolate cut from a bar instead of chocolate chips.  Chips have stabilizers that help them keep their shape when baked.  But, when you use real chocolate and you bite into a cookie right from the oven, the chocolate melts and oozes from the cookie.  If you haven’t tried it, you won’t believe how delicious it is.  You won’t ever have your chocolate chip cookies any other way.

Everyone says they have the perfect chocolate chip cookie, but I won’t say that.  I will say that these were some of the best I’ve had.  A bit crisp on the outside, chewy on the inside, and bits of chocolate throughout.  This is exactly how a chocolate chip cookie should be.  I think my husband ate half of them and my kids loved them.  Sammie keeps asking for more of the Amazin’ cookies. Amazin’?  I love it.

Flour Bakery’s Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Yield: 2 dozen (I got 20 cookies)

1 cup (2 sticks/228 grams) unsalted butter, at room temp

3/4 cup (150g) granulated sugar

3/4 cup (165g) firmly packed light brown sugar

2 large eggs

1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1 cup (140g) unbleached all-purpose flour

1 cup (150g) bread flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

9 ounces (255g) semisweet chocolate, chopped (about 1 1/2 cups)

2 1/2 ounces (70 grams) milk chocolate, chopped (about 1/2 cup)

In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle, cream together the butter, sugar and brown sugar on medium speed for about 5 minutes, or until light and fluffy. Stop the mixer a few times to scrape down the sides and bottom of the bowl as needed to release clinging butter or sugar. Beat in the eggs and vanilla on medium for 2 to 3 minutes or until thoroughly combined. Scrape down the bowl and paddle to make sure the eggs are fully mixed in.

In a medium bowl, stir together both flours, baking soda, and salt until well combined. Add the semi sweet and milk chocolate pieces and toss to combine.  On low speed (or with a wooden spoon), slowly add the flour-chocolate mixture to the butter-sugar mixture.  Mix just until the flour mixture is totally incorporated and the dough is evenly mixed.

For the best results, scrape the dough into an airtight container and let rest in the fridge overnight (or at least 3-4 hours) before baking.  When you are ready to bake, position a rack in the center of the oven and preheat the oven to 350F.

Drop the dough in 1/4 cup balls onto a baking sheet (I lined mine with parchment) about 2 inches apart. Flatten each cookie slightly with the palm of your hand. Bake for 15 to 18 minutes, or until golden on the edges but still soft in the center. I rotated the pans halfway through baking. Don’t let them brown through or you will lose the chewiness of the slightly underbaked centers.  Let cool on the baking sheet on a wire rack for 5 to 10 minutes.  Then, transfer the cookies with a spatula to the wire rack to cool completely.

The cookies can be stored in an airtight container for up to 3 days.  Unbaked dough can stay in the fridge, in an airtight container, up to 1 week.

Source:  Flour: Spectacular Recipes from Boston’s Flour Bakery + Cafe

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Cindy

     /  August 15, 2012

    I think I’ve tried just about every single chocolate cook recipe and BY FAR this is our favorite recipe. Don’t skip the bread flour- it’s crucial to the success of the cookie. YUM!

    Reply
    • We loved these Cindy! I never used bread flour in my chocolate chip cookies before. But, you are right, they really added to the chewiness and made for a better cookie.

      Reply
  2. I’ve never baked with bread flour either (I usually just sub with all-purpose). If you think these cookies are amazing, then I will have to try them too! I trust your judgment!

    Reply
  3. Those do look AMAZIN!

    Reply
  4. Cindy

     /  August 15, 2012

    No- I’d never used bread flour either. My husband will now only eat these!

    Reply
  5. Adore chocolate cookies. These look fabulous.

    Reply
  6. mmm, all that chocolate – heavenly!
    xo
    http://allykayler.blogspot.ca/

    Reply
  7. Now this is a cookie! I’ve been looking for a new chocolate chip cookie to try and this sounds perfect! Thanks for sharing…

    Reply
  1. Chocolate Chunk Cookies | Centre Street

Leave a comment

  • Just Baked

    Follow Me on Pinterest
  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Certified Yummly

    Certified Yummly Recipes on Yummly.com
  • Just Baked on Foodgawker

    my foodgawker gallery
  • Just Baked on Tastespotting

    my photos on tastespotting