Grammy’s Chocolate Cookies

I make a lot of sugar cookies because everyone in my family loves them.  But, I decided to change it up a bit this time and make chocolate sugar cookies.  What?  I don’t think I have ever had a chocolate sugar cookie.  Have you?  I’ve had plenty of brownie cookies, but this one is different.  It truly is a chocolate flavored sugar cookie.

Grammy’s Chocolate Cookies won grand prize in Martha’s Cookie of the Week Contest.  I just love old family recipes, so I decided to give these a try.  This is a really easy recipe but I have to say, the results are amazing!  These cookies bake up with the very slightest crispness around the edges with a super soft, chewy and fudgy middle.  Perfection.  The sugar they are rolled in before baking creates a beautiful, enticing sparkly coating covering the whole cookie top.  You know they are good when my husband, who doesn’t even like chocolate, had some this afternoon warm from the oven and more for a night-time snack while we watched Walking Dead (amazing show by the way…I don’t know how I am going to wait until fall for the new season!).   I just love when I find a perfect recipe like this one.  They are so good, I know I will make them again and again until it becomes a family recipe to pass on to my own children.  Thanks for the great recipe Grammy! 😀

Grammy’s Chocolate Cookies

Yield: 3 1/2 dozen

2 cups plus 2 Tbsp all-purpose flour

3/4 cup unsweetened Dutch processed cocoa powder  I used Valrhona for the best flavor and the really dark color

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 1/4 cups (2 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature

2 cups sugar

2 large eggs

2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

sanding sugar for rolling   I used regular granulated sugar

Sift together flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.
In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat butter and sugar on medium speed until light and fluffy, 2 minutes.  Add eggs and vanilla, and beat to combine. Reduce speed to low  and gradually add the flour mixture; beat to combine.  Form dough into a flat disk and wrap in plastic wrap.  Chill until dough is firm, about 1 hour.
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line baking sheets with parchment. Roll dough into 1 1/4-inch balls.  Roll each ball in the sugar. Place on prepared baking sheets about 1 1/2 inches apart. Bake until set, about 10 to 12 minutes, rotating halfway through. Start checking at about 8 minutes.  These are dark cookies so it can be hard to gauge when they are done.  Pull them out a bit underdone and they will finish cooking on the sheet.  Cool on baking sheets for 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.  Cookies can be stored between layers of parchment in an airtight container at room temperature up to 1 week.
Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Hello beautiful cookies. Meet your soon-to-be devourer 😀
    Great recipe – whoever’s Grammy had class 🙂

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Reply
  2. Now they look really yummy. Mmmm. 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks Jennifer! They are definitely one of my favorite things I have made since starting my blog. So chocolatey…so chewy….so soft…so yummy 😀

      Reply
  3. Thanks for sharing Grammy’s treasured recipe here. I do love Dutch chocolate so this is probably one worth putting in the cookie jar! Saving this one-no doubt a winner-yum!

    Reply
    • Thanks Tina!! I too love dutch cocoa for the flavor and the rich color it brings to desserts. Definitely a keeper! 😀

      Reply
  4. KL

     /  July 30, 2012

    These look delicious! One question though…I don’t have Dutch cocoa but I do have Hershey’s unsweetened cocoa. Would it taste okay if I used that instead?

    Reply
    • Hey KL! Unfortunately, from what I have read, if dutch cocoa is specified in the recipe, it cannot be interchanged with natural because it can upset the chemical balance in recipe and they may not turn out. These cookies are so super good (even my chocolate hating husband loves them) I would hate to have them fail on you.

      Reply
  5. Emily Pilon

     /  September 5, 2012

    Would these be okay to use a cookie cutter on? I am not a huge fan of regular sugar cookies, so this sounds like a delicious alternative.

    Reply
    • Hey Emily. I don’t think they would hold their shape if you use cookie cutters. The top of them also cracks a bit. I haven’t made them in awhile, but if I recall correctly, the dough is kind of sticky too. If you try it, let me know how they turn out.

      Reply
  6. I came SO close to making these cookies today. I flipped through Martha’s cookie book and decided on Mocha Shortbread instead. They were so disappointing 😦 And now I really want these cookies!!!

    Reply
    • Oh no! These are some of our favorites! I don’t make many recipes more than once, but this is one I’ve made again and again. Even my chocolate hating husband loves them. I love Martha, but her cookie book has been hit or miss for me. I also made the milk chocolate cookies and they were okay, but really thin. And don’t even get me started on the cheesecake blondies. Yuck! :D. Now I want some of these cookies too!!

      Reply

Leave a comment

  • Just Baked

    Follow Me on Pinterest
  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Certified Yummly

    Certified Yummly Recipes on Yummly.com
  • Just Baked on Foodgawker

    my foodgawker gallery
  • Just Baked on Tastespotting

    my photos on tastespotting