Downtown Bakery and Creamery’s Cinnamon Sugar Donut Muffins

I was watching The Best Thing I Ever Ate- Snacks and the owner of Sprinkles Cupcakes, Candace Nelson, said her favorite snack was the donut muffins at Downtown Bakery and Creamery.  They looked amazing!  Besides, I figured if she would eat these muffins instead of her own cupcakes, they must be fabulous. I remembered saving a recipe awhile back for cinnamon donut muffins and that it was from some bakery.  I found the recipe and sure enough, it was written by the owner of Downtown Bakery and Creamery!  These are supposed to be giant muffins, but I read the reviews and most people suggested they be made mini to increase the cinnamon sugar to cake ratio (brilliant!) and because they are so rich.  The cupcakes bake up tall with a crust on the outside and they are fluffy and tender on the inside.  While they are still hot, you brush them all over with melted butter and roll them in cinnamon sugar.  Does breakfast get much better than that? I’m gonna go ahead and say no. 😀
Downtown Bakery and Creamery’s Cinnamon Sugar Donut Muffins
Yield: 24 standard size muffins  (52-56 mini muffins)
For the muffins:
12 oz. (24 Tbs.) unsalted butter, warmed to room temperature
1-3/4 cups sugar
4 large eggs
1 lb. 11 oz. (6 cups) all-purpose flour
1 Tbs. plus 2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1-3/4 tsp. salt
1 tsp. ground nutmeg
1-2/3 cups milk
1/4 cup buttermilk
For dipping:
8 oz. (16 Tbs.) unsalted butter; more as needed
2 cups sugar
2 Tbs. ground cinnamon
Put a rack in the middle of the oven and heat the oven to 350°F. In a stand mixer or a large bowl, cream the butter and sugar. Beat in the eggs, one at a time, until just mixed in. Sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and nutmeg. Combine the milk and buttermilk. With a wooden spoon, mix a quarter of the dry ingredients into the butter mixture. Then mix in a third of the milk mixture. Continue mixing in the remaining dry and wet ingredients alternately, ending with the dry. Mix until well combined and smooth, but don’t overmix. The batter is very thick.  Grease and flour a standard-size muffin tin. Scoop enough batter into each tin so that the top of the batter is even with the rim of the cup, about 1/2 cup. (A #16 ice-cream scoop gives you the perfect amount.) Bake the muffins until firm to the touch, 30 to 35 minutes.
Melt the butter for the dipping mixture. Combine the sugar and cinnamon. When the muffins are just cool enough to handle, remove them from the tin, dip them into or brush them all over with the melted butter (I recommend the brush method- I did both and found that the dip method lead to them absorbing too much butter and got greasy).  Then roll them- top, bottom, and sides- in the cinnamon sugar.
Make ahead: You don’t have to bake all the muffins right away; the batter will keep, covered and chilled, for up to three days in the refrigerator.
Mini muffins:  I baked mine in a mini muffin tin. I made a half recipe and got 28 mini muffins.  They took about 18 minutes to bake, but I would start checking at about 14 minutes.
Helpful Hints:
  • Cinnamon sugar is delicious, but powdered sugar, plain sugar, or vanilla sugar would be delicious too.
  • Do not overmix, or you will not get fluffy, tender muffins.
  • I added a splash of vanilla to the batter, as I can’t imagine any baked good without it 😀
Previous Post
Leave a comment

41 Comments

  1. These look sinful! I remember seeing that episode and wanting those muffins then. Thanks for sharing the recipe. 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks Jessy! I love that show, but it drives me crazy because I want to eat everything. 😀 This recipe was so easy and delicious! Sinful for sure with all that butter.

      Reply
  2. Sara

     /  February 6, 2012

    I don’t know what show this is from but these look divine. Yum!

    Reply
    • Sara- I wish you lived closer so I could share all these goodies with you. I know how you love food like I do 😀

      Reply
  3. Oh my gosh, I was totally going to make a version of these muffins this weekend! Looks amazing 🙂

    Reply
  4. I saw that episode and thought those looked amazing, thanks so much for sharing!

    Reply
    • I know!! I saw that episode and I thought they looked amazing and they couldn’t be hard to make. It was so lucky that the exact recipe was in Fine Cooking Magazine! I hope you get a chance to give them a try! 😀

      Reply
  5. Oh. My. God. No way!!! I’m on the same boat as you and the others. I saw the episode and immediately craved them. Especially with Candice endorsing them! I then went online to check the food network site for the recipe – no go. 😦 I was super disappointed and figured it was top secret and I would never get to try those lovelies but here they are!

    Thank you so much. 😀

    xoxo

    – Eve

    Reply
  6. Thanks Eve. I was so excited when I found this recipe- especially since it is directly from the bakery and not a copycat. They are so easy and delicious. Let me know if you give them a try! 😀

    Reply
  7. I saw that episode too and they looked heavenly! Thanks for posting, I will be making these soon!

    Reply
  8. Thanks so much for posting this recipe. I am gluten-free but my husband is not. He is in the Navy and stationed on a ship right now. I have made many different recipes from cupcakes to breakfast muffins for his ships department. But these are the most requested for me to make them. My husband just recently went out to sea and I made his department the muffins before leaving. It cheers them up through the long work days of pulling out and leaving family. So thank you from myself and the USN for this wonderful recipe! Thank you, thank you, thank you!

    p.s. I am always sad that i dont get to try these. but i am going to try to and make these gluten free for me 🙂

    Reply
    • Thank you so much. You made my day! I’m so glad that his department enjoys them. Please let me know how the GF version turns out!

      Reply
  9. Molly

     /  November 4, 2012

    these were amazing! i tend to make things bigger than necissary so making giant muffins i got 18, a big hit thanks 🙂

    Reply
  10. these are amazing! I have joined 2 baking swaps this month and I am making these for both! The first swap turned out amazing! i did 2 batches and i made about 8 dozen mini’s with dough left over. I am making these again today. Second 2 dozen are in the oven and the first came out awesome so far!

    Reply
  11. I’m the same way about vanilla. 🙂 Thanks for the recipe. Trying tonight for a treat for my girls before school tomorrow.

    Reply
  12. Seanos The God

     /  March 1, 2013

    I will eat these

    Reply
  13. Kristina Rasley

     /  March 15, 2013

    Just made 1/2 a batch and it made nearly 40 mini muffins! I wonder if I can freeze the muffins without topping and they will keep? Then when we want them again I could just warm them up and roll them then?

    Reply
    • I never freeze muffins, but I know people do. I don’t see why not. But, I think adding the topping when you want to eat them is a good idea.

      Reply
  14. Vita

     /  March 26, 2013

    An illegal use of your picture http://www.skanaus.eu/receptas/keksai-spurgos/

    Reply
  15. Jen

     /  May 23, 2013

    These look so delicious. Thanks for sharing it!

    Reply
  16. Hi,

    I thought you are also interested that this site (http://motivanova.com/?p=6204) stole and republished our pictures. They run ads and get paid for using our work. I just contacted the webhost to take my material down. It appears that this site only uses plagiarized material. I find this very sad, especially since we honest bloggers put a lot of time into our work.

    Wishing you a great day.
    Kirsten

    Reply
  17. Barbara

     /  May 19, 2014

    Unbelievable!!! I’ve been trying to make a cake donut for years. This is the first time I’ve tried baking instead of frying. This recipe hands down is the best and better than any fried donut. I now don’t have to travel 2 hrs to my favorite bakery that makes cinnamon sugar cake donuts the old fashion way and only open in summer months. Thank you

    Reply
  18. Barbara

     /  May 19, 2014

    PS: I forgot to mention that the outside has just the right crunch like a fried donut. If I had my eyes closed when taking a bite…I would not know it was baked. This recipe is the tops!
    Barbara

    Reply
  19. These look great! I was wondering if you could give me the exact measurement if I wanted to bake 1/2 the amount of this recipe? Six cups of flour is quite a lot. I believe that I will be getting a mini muffin pan soon!

    Reply
  20. Jami

     /  December 21, 2015

    Would I be able to make up the batter and leave it in the fridge for baking the next morning? These would be amazing for Xmas breakfast.. but that’s also a busy morning to do all of it in the AM!

    Reply
    • I’ve never tried it, so I’m not sure. Maybe just measure out the dry ingredients the night before? It shouldn’t take too long then to measure and mix in the wet ingredients.

      Reply
  21. susan

     /  May 22, 2016

    I baked & loved & will soon make again! I love this recipe! Thanks so much. ❤

    Reply
  22. lori finn

     /  June 28, 2016

    can you freeze these donut muffins after they are baked? If you can, does the texture remain the same?

    Reply
    • I’ve never frozen muffins, but I know other people do. I’m not sure about if there are any texture changes.

      Reply
  23. Lindsay

     /  July 25, 2016

    I am literally watching the episode you talked about right now, saw the donut muffin and immediately went to Pinterest in the hopes I could find something similar! So thank you for posting this recipe. Can’t wait to try it out!

    Reply
  24. Laurie

     /  August 7, 2016

    Oh, wow! I tried these today. Easy to mix up, and very tasty. VERY rich! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  1. Very Vanilla Doughnut Cupcakes | V-Spot
  2. Maple Bacon Muffin Tops - Something Swanky
  3. Downtown Bakery and Creamerys Cinnamon Sugar Donut Muffins | Just Baked | Christina Creative
  4. Jam-Filled Chai-Spiced Doughnut Muffins | Bake&Tell

Leave a comment

  • Just Baked

    Follow Me on Pinterest
  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Certified Yummly

    Certified Yummly Recipes on Yummly.com
  • Just Baked on Foodgawker

    my foodgawker gallery
  • Just Baked on Tastespotting

    my photos on tastespotting