Mini Maple Pancake Muffins

I don’t have time to make a big breakfast Monday through Friday because I have a first grader to get on the bus by 7:20, a preschooler to be at school by 9, and a baby to carry along for the ride.  So, it is cereal, muffins, or Pop-tarts for breakfast on those early school mornings.  On the weekend, I wake up all excited to make a big breakfast and ask the kids what they would like to eat. Usually my excitement is met with…”We just want cereal”. Ugh. But, when I offer to make these Mini Maple Pancake Muffins, they often accept the compromise.  I love that I can have the batter mixed in less than 10 minutes and baked in 9 minutes, so breakfast is on the table in less than 20 minutes!  They don’t need much to dress them up, just a dusting of powdered sugar and some sweet whipped cream. They are so cute and just the right size to pop in your mouth. So when you are looking for a quick, delicious, kid friendly breakfast, this is it!



Mini Maple Pancake Muffins

 Yield: 24 mini muffins

1 cup flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
2 Tbsp sugar
2/3 cup buttermilk
1 egg
2 tbsp pure maple syrup (I just use pancake syrup)
2 tbsp melted butter
1/2 cup milk chocolate chips (I prefer mini semi-sweet chips)

Preheat the oven to 350°F. Spray a mini muffin pan well with cooking spray.

In a medium bowl mix the dry ingredients (flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and sugar) together with a wire whisk.

In a small bowl, whisk together the wet ingredients (buttermilk, egg, syrup, melted butter). Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and mix until just combined. Add in the chocolate chips, stir to distribute.

Using a small spoon, drop some batter in each well of the muffin tin, filling a little over 2/3s full. Sprinkle with chocolate chips if desired.

Bake at 350°F for 8-9 minutes, or until they start to brown.  Let cool for about 5 minutes before using a small spoon to pop them out onto a serving plate. Serve with syrup or dusted with powdered sugar and whipped cream.

Source:  Bakerella

Helpful hints:

  • I almost never have buttermilk, because it goes bad before I can use it all. So, in a liquid measuring cup, I put 2 tsp of lemon juice and add milk up to the 2/3 cup mark. I do this first and let it sit while I prepare the rest of the ingredients.
  • Make sure to generously spray inside the wells and the across the top of the muffin tin. I have found that a small spoon works the best for removing the muffins. If any part sticks, run the spoon around it, and it should come free without damaging the muffin. And if it does, no worries, it still tastes delicious!
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. you’ve gotten a great blog right here! would you like to make some invite posts on my blog?

    Reply

Leave a comment

  • Just Baked

    Follow Me on Pinterest
  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Certified Yummly

    Certified Yummly Recipes on Yummly.com
  • Just Baked on Foodgawker

    my foodgawker gallery
  • Just Baked on Tastespotting

    my photos on tastespotting