Blueberry Buckle

Holy cow! Pretty soon I will have made so many recipes from The Back in the Day Bakery Cookbook, you won’t even have to buy it! :D  The book really is that good.  The other day, I bought three pints of blueberries because they were super cheap.  We ate some, froze some, and  I decided that I had to make the Back in the Day Bakery’s blueberry buckle with the rest.  But, I had to get rid of at least half of this cake or else I would be eating the whole dang thing.  There are worse problems I suppose.  But, I convinced my father in law to swing by and pick some up.  It really didn’t take much convincing.  And, he was nice enough to give me some raspberries that he picked from his garden in exchange.  Sounds like a fair trade to me.

This is a really simple cake to put together.  The batter is similar to other coffee cake batters.  But, I love the addition of the sour cream and lemon zest for a bit of tang.  The recipe makes a ton of streusel.  It may seem like too much, but don’t be tempted to not use it all.  Come on, the cinnamon streusel is the best part!  I ate it warm out of the oven for breakfast and it was delicious.  My mother in law enjoyed hers with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.  Why didn’t I think of that?  Okay, maybe not for the piece I ate for breakfast but on one of the other two pieces I ate that day.  And, now I have none left.  Oh well, I will have to keep this in mind for next time.

Back in the Day Bakery’s Blueberry Buckle

Yield:  one 9 inch round cake

For the crumble:

1/4 cup granulated sugar
1/3 cup packed light brown sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp fresh grated nutmeg
1 1/3 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
8 Tbsp (1 stick ) cold unsalted butter, cut into 1/2 inch cubes

For the cake:
1 1/4 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder, preferably aluminum free
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp fine sea salt
1/4 tsp cardamom  I omitted
6 T unsalted butter, room temperature
3/4 granulated cup sugar
2 large eggs, at room temp
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp grated lemon zest
2/3 cup sour cream
2 cups fresh blueberries

Position rack in the lower third of the oven and preheat to 350F.  Butter the sides of a 9 inch round cake pan and line the bottom with parchment.

Make the crumb topping:  Combine the sugars, cinnamon, nutmeg, and flour in a small bowl and mix until well blended.  Cut in the butter with a pastry blender until the crumbs are the size of peas.  Put the topping in a covered container and set in the freezer to chill while you make the cake batter.

To make the buckle:  Sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cardamom.  Set aside.

In the bowl of a stand mixer with a paddle, cream the butter and granulated sugar on high speed for 5 to 7 minutes, until light and fluffy.  Reduce the speed to low,  and add in the eggs one at a time, mixing well after each one.  Add the vanilla, lemon zest and sour cream.

With the mixer on low, add the dry ingredients to the butter mixture, mixing just until incorporated. Gently fold in the blueberries.

Scrape the batter into the prepared pan and spread it evenly with a spatula. Sprinkle the crumb topping over the cake batter. Bake for 40 to 50 minutes, until the top is golden brown and firm to the touch.  Sprinkle the top lightly with powdered sugar if desired.  Serve warm or at room temperature.  Wrapped in plastic, the buckle will keep at room temperature for 2 to 3 days.

Source:  The Back in the Day Bakery Cookbook

Leave a comment

18 Comments

  1. Looks very lovely and very.. blueberry!😀

    Reply
  2. That is a stunner if I have seen one😀
    LOVE it!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Reply
  3. What a fabulous way to use up fresh blueberries! I agree that you can never have too much streusel. Happy 4th of July!

    Reply
  4. Great blueberry buckle! Looks delicious!

    Reply
  5. i’ve never heard of a buckle!? looks fantastic anyway🙂

    Reply
  6. I love anything with streusel and I love blueberries! So this cake is definitely calling my name! Another winner from Back in the Day Bakery!

    Reply
  7. Looks so beautiful and some of my favorite ingredients. Yum!

    Reply
  8. Congratulations on making the foodbuzz Today’s Top 9!

    Reply
  9. I made this last night for dessert for a dinner party and it was met with rave reviews!!!! So delicious! I served it with a cream cheese whipped cream and it was divine. This is going into the make-frequently box!

    Reply
    • Thanks Maggie! I’m so glad you liked it! Mmmm…cream cheese whipped cream sounds delicious and perfect for this buckle!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

