Toll House Style Tartlets

This morning I decided to make lemon cheesecake tassies.  They sound fabulous right?   Though they tasted good, they all stuck in the pan and were a big mess.  Ugh.  So, I decided to try a different recipe, along the same lines, chocolate chip cookie tartlets.  It seemed sure to be a winner.  So, I made the dough, refrigerated it, and then read in the recipe that I was to “pack” it into the muffin wells.  Hmmm…I interpret pack it to mean fill it.  I thought to myself won’t it run over?  But, the first run of the recipe I like to follow it as written so I packed those wells full, put them in the oven and hoped for the best.  Well, I should have gone with my gut, because darn it if those cookie tartlets didn’t run into each other, creating another giant mess.  So frustrating!  But, I tasted one and it was delicious.  Luckily I had some dough left, so I decided to fill the wells about 2/3 full this time.  Now they baked into perfect little blondie muffins, a bit crisp on the outside and soft and chewy on the inside.  The top sinks in a bit, creating the perfect bowl for a small scoop of your favorite ice cream and some chocolate syrup.  A warm, mini cookie sundae, super cute!  Now, how can I still be mad??😀

 Toll House Style Tartlets

Yield:  24 mini tartlets per recipe, I got 31 – even more if you fill the wells about 2/3 full.

1 cup (8 oz) unsalted butter, melted

1 1/3 cup firmly packed brown sugar

1/4 cup white sugar

1 egg

1 egg yolk

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp baking soda mixed with 1 tablespoon hot water

2 cups all purpose flour

1/4 tsp salt

2 1/2 cups mini semisweet chocolate chips  I used 1 bag, about 2 cups and it was plenty

Line a baking sheet with parchment.  Spray a 24 cup mini muffin pan with nonstick spray.  Set aside.

In a large bowl or the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle, cream the butter and both sugars until fluffy.  Blend in the egg, egg yolk, and vanilla.  Stir in the baking soda mixture, then the flour and salt. Stir in the chocolate chips.

Cover and refrigerate for 30 minutes.

Preheat oven to 350F.  Pack the batter into the mini muffin cups – I suggest to only about 2/3 full or they rise too much and will run together.  Place the muffin pan on the prepared baking sheet.

Bake for 15 to 17 minutes, or until just set.  I would start checking at about 10 minutes.  Let cool completely on wire racks.  Freeze, in the pan, for 45 minutes to 1 hour.   I did not freeze them.

Remove the cookies from the cups.  To store, wrap each cookie in waxed paper or cellophane and refrigerate for up to 1 month.  Serve cold.  I served warm and at room temperature.

Source: The New Best Of Better Baking.com

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. I wonder why it is ALWAYS third time lucky my friend – you deserve to devour all of these beauties😀
    Yum!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Reply
  2. They look so yummy! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Those look so good! I want to eat a few of those right now!

    Reply
  4. What a great comeback with the final dessert here. Sometimes trials do pay off with great success-delicious post. Well done!

    Reply
  5. How Cute are these, they look great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

