Pancake Soufflé Muffins with Strawberry-Maple Syrup

On Saturday night, my husband asked what I wanted him to make me for my Mother’s Day breakfast.  While that is so sweet, and I really appreciate it, I absolutely love to make breakfast.  I just couldn’t give it up.  So I said it would make me happiest if I made breakfast for everyone.  Begrudgingly, my husband gave in.  😀

I subscribe to a bunch of recipe sites, so I must get at least 50 emails a day.  When I opened an email a few days ago from Fine Cooking, I was immediately drawn to the photo of light looking muffin, smothered in syrup and topped with fresh strawberries.  When I read the name, Pancake Soufflé Muffins with Strawberry-Maple Syrup, I knew these had to be made and soon.  It would be the perfect Mother’s Day breakfast! I love the idea of making pancakes in muffin tins.  It’s brilliant because everything is done at the same time and can be served piping hot.  No sweating over a hot griddle and flipping pancakes. No preheating the oven to warm finished pancakes while you make more.  No trying to get bacon done in between all the pouring and flipping without burning anything.  Here, you just pour the batter in the wells and bake.  Done.  I loved the texture of these muffins, so different from anything I’ve had before. Since the egg whites are beaten and folded into the batter, you get a light, souffle textured muffin that tastes just like a pancake.  How does that not make you want to make these muffins immediately?  If you don’t, you must have willpower of steel.  I envy you. 😀

Pancake Soufflé Muffins with Strawberry-Maple Syrup

Yield:  24 muffins, 12 servings

Muffins

Nonstick cooking spray
10-1/2 oz. (2-1/3 cups) all-purpose flour
4-1/2 oz. (1 cup plus 2 Tbs.) cake flour
2 tsp. baking soda
2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. kosher salt
6 large eggs, separated and at room temperature
3/4 tsp. cream of tartar
3 oz. (6 Tbs.) unsalted butter, melted and cooled slightly
6 T bs. granulated sugar
1 tsp. pure vanilla extract
3-1/3 cups buttermilk, at room temperature
Confectioners’ sugar, for sprinkling

Position a rack in the center of the oven and heat the oven to 400°F. Liberally spray two 12-cup muffin pans with the cooking spray.

In a medium bowl, mix the all-purpose flour, cake flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt; set aside.

In a large, clean mixing bowl, beat the egg whites and cream of tartar with an electric hand mixer on medium-high speed to firm (but not dry) peaks, 2 to 3 minutes. Set aside.

In another large bowl, beat the egg yolks with the mixer on medium-high speed until thick, ribbony, and lemon-yellow, about 6 minutes. Add the melted butter, sugar, and vanilla; mix on medium-low speed until combined, about 30 seconds. Add one-third of the dry ingredients and mix on low speed. Add one-third of the buttermilk and mix to combine. Alternate adding the remaining dry ingredients and buttermilk, ending with the buttermilk and mixing until just combined.

With a large rubber spatula, gently fold the whites into the batter, leaving some streaks.

Scoop about 1/2 cup of the batter into each muffin cup—you can fill the cups to the rims. Bake, rotating the pans after 10 minutes, until browned on top and puffed, and a toothpick inserted in the centers comes out dry, 20 to 25 minutes total.

Strawberry Syrup –

1 cup pure maple syrup
1 cup quartered, hulled ripe strawberries

While the muffins are baking, bring the maple syrup to a boil in a small pot over medium-high heat. Put the strawberries in a medium serving bowl. Pour the syrup over the berries and set aside in a warm spot.  I served mine with just a sprinkling of powdered sugar, syrup for dipping and strawberries on the side.

To Serve:

With an offset spatula, pop the muffins out of the cups and arrange on a platter. Sprinkle with confectioners’ sugar and serve with the syrup.

Make Ahead:

You can make the batter up to 2 hours ahead through the step of folding in the beaten egg whites. Refrigerate it, covered, in its bowl. Do not portion it into muffin tins until you’re ready to bake.

Source:  Fine Cooking

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. My mouth just dropped when I saw this dessert/breakfast treat 😀
    YUM!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Reply
  2. I was definitely drawn to this after reading the title. Having muffins with all the flavor and texture of an pancake is a great idea and a time saver! Wish I had one with my coffee now!

    Reply
  3. Why didn’t I think of putting pancakes into muffin tins? Brilliant!

    Reply
  4. oh my… where do I start?

    Reply
  5. sound lovely! x

    Reply
  6. These pancake souffle muffins sound delicious – definitely need something lighter like this during spring time! I have been experimenting with strawberries too – a French Clafoutis (very similar to a souffle) for something sweet and not too heavy or rich: http://www.indigomemoirs.com/2013/04/15/strawberries-clafoutis/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

