Peanut Butter Surprise Cookies

I hope you all love peanut butter and chocolate as much as I do.  Otherwise, you are probably like…oh no, not again!  I honestly can’t help it.  I cannot see a peanut butter and chocolate recipe and just bypass it.  Nope.  I have to bookmark it and make it immediately.  A few months back I made a similar cookie, only the peanut butter cups were buried on the inside.  As good as those were, these peanut butter surprise cookies blow those right out of the water.  The peanut butter cookie base is amazing by itself.  It is so soft and chewy.  Then it sparkles and has great texture from the sugar it is rolled in.  Warm, right from the oven, I think these taste best with the pool of melted chocolate and the warm creamy peanut butter in contrast to the chewy cookie.  But, trust me, they are still fabulous at room temperature.  Really fabulous.  Like, I can’t stop eating them, these are dangerous, fabulous. 😀

Peanut butter surprise cookies

Yield: 36 cookies (I got 31 cookies)

1/2 cup creamy peanut butter  I used Peter Pan Honey Roasted

4 tablespoons unsalted butter, room temperature

1 cup packed light-brown sugar

2 large eggs

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour, (spooned and leveled)

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/3 cup granulated sugar, for rolling dough     I used vanilla bean sugar

36 mini peanut butter cups, chilled and unwrapped

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Using an electric mixer, cream peanut butter and butter in a mixing bowl until smooth. Add brown sugar; beat until combined, scraping down bowl as needed. Add eggs and vanilla, and beat until incorporated.

In a small bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt. With mixer on low speed, gradually beat in flour mixture in two batches.

Scoop off dough by the tablespoon; roll into balls.  The dough is pretty soft.  Putting the dough in the fridge for 1 hour will make rolling easier.  Place granulated sugar on a plate; roll balls in sugar, coating completely. Place 2 inches apart on a nonstick insulated baking sheet.

Bake until cookies begin to puff up slightly, about 7 minutes. Remove from oven. Press one peanut butter cup in center of each cookie. Return to oven; continue baking until cookies are golden brown and chocolate has begun to melt, about 6 minutes more. Let cool at least 10 minutes on baking sheet before transferring cookies to rack to cool completely.

Source:  Martha Stewart

Previous Post
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. ‘pool of melted chocolate’ – truly is it vital that I always read your posts before sleeping? Though granted I do dream of chocolate 😛
    Beautiful soft and gooey cookies my friend!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Reply
  2. Your description alone has me swooning over these! Not sure if these would ever last longer than 5 minutes at this house. This recipe is a keeper, glad you posted it. Enjoy the day.

    Reply
  3. Beautiful photo! My husband would love these!

    Reply
  4. They looks so sweet. Sweet to look at and sweet to eat. 🙂

    Reply
  5. Cindy

     /  May 2, 2012

    I’m a relatively new reader of your blog and am already a fan of your writing- and your choices! And after the last few posts, this new one has me wondering- do you and your family really eat all of these fabulous desserts?? I love to bake but have to restrain myself! 🙂 Keep up the great posts!

    Reply
    • Thank you so much Cindy! It makes me so happy that you enjoy my blog! Ha! Yeah, we eat some. You know, we have to for quality control ;D But, whatever can be packed up, I try to send to school with my husband to give to his high school students. And, I tend to bring treats with me wherever I go…visiting family and meeting friends. You get me and a plate of brownies. Pretty good deal, right? 😀

      Reply
      • Cindy

         /  May 4, 2012

        Ah- I didn’t realize you had a teacher in the family! Both my husband and I are teachers too- and now I understand that you have a ready-made outlet for those goodies! Sounds like people look forward to you making a visit! 🙂

      • Really? I actually teach too. But, I teach online pharmacy tech classes.

        Fortunately or unfortunately for Justin’s students, I also send any of my failures. I hate to throw them away, so unless it tastes terrible, I send it. They haven’t turned anything down yet 😀 Teenagers…

Leave a Reply

