Chocolate Marble Chunk Cookies

One of the hardest things to bake is the lovely French macaron, which is a light, almond-based meringue cookie sandwiched with a creamy filling.  They are just really finicky and it seems almost as though the stars have to align to get them just right.  Unfortunately, the stars apparently were in disarray and my macarons failed :(.  Big time!  All the shells and the batter went right into the garbage.  Oh well, I am really glad I tried and now I am more determined than ever to try again.  Hopefully sometime soon, you will see some beautiful macarons on my blog.   But, not too soon, because those failed macarons made me sad.  What makes me happy?   Delicious cookies.    Hmmm….but what kind would be best to lift my spirits?  They better be some fantastic cookies!!  Chocolate cookies?  Maybe.  Chocolate chip cookies?  I do love those.  I just couldn’t decide.  So why not make them both, marbled together in one cookie?  That’s a perfect compromise!  The nice thing about this recipe is that you don’t have to make two completely separate doughs, like you do in a lot of marbled cookie recipes.  You make the vanilla dough first, remove some of it to a separate bowl, and flavor what is left with cocoa powder.  The marbling looks so impressive, but it is really easy to do.  You just take a big pinch of both flavored doughs, sandwich them together, roll them in a ball, and then lightly press them into a disk.   That’s it!  Warm right from the oven, you will love the contrast in texture of the melted chocolate chunks against the soft, chewy cookie. Just when I thought these cookies couldn’t be more delicious, I just realized, as I am here writing and eating two cookies sandwiched together with vanilla ice cream…indeed they can be even more delicious!  These cookies certainly did their job.  Eh, French macarons?  What are those?  Winking smile
Chocolate Marble Chunk Cookies
Makes about 60 cookies  I got 34
 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
3/4 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
3/4 cup granulated sugar
3/4 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 large eggs
1/4 cup unsweetened alkalized (Dutch-processed) cocoa powder, sifted   I used Valrhona
12 ounces bittersweet or semisweet bar chocolate, cut into 1/2-inch pieces   I used more like 6 oz of semisweet Callebaut.  Chocolate chips will work, but they don’t melt like cut chocolate bars do.
1 3/4 cups pecan pieces   I omitted
1. Position a rack in the center of the oven and preheat to 350°F. Have 2 ungreased baking sheets at hand.  I used parchment
2. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour and baking soda. Set aside.
3. In the bowl of an electric mixer, using the paddle attachment, beat the butter, light brown sugar, granulated sugar, salt, and vanilla extract at medium-high speed until light, about 2 minutes. Beat in the eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each addition and scraping down the sides of the bowl as necessary. Add the flour mixture at low speed, mixing just until blended.

4. Transfer 1 3/4 cups of the dough to another bowl and set aside. Add the cocoa powder to the remaining dough in the mixer and mix on low speed until blended. Add half of the chocolate pieces and about half of the pecan pieces and mix until blended. Stir the remaining half of the chocolate and pecan pieces into the remaining light-colored dough. Fill half of a 1 tablespoon scoop or measure with the light dough, making it well rounded, not level. Fill the remaining half with the chocolate dough.   I took a big pinch of white dough in my left hand and of the chocolate with my right hand and sandwiched them together.  They were probably 1 Tbsp worth of dough together.  Roll the doughs into a ball and place it on an ungreased baking sheet. Flatten it into a 1 1/2-inch disc with your palm (wet it first, to prevent sticking). Repeat to form more cookies, spacing them 2 inches apart. I got 9 cookies to a sheet.  Bake, 1 sheet at a time, for 8 to 10 minutes, until the lighter dough just begins to color. Let the cookies cool on the baking sheet for 5 minutes, then transfer the cookies to a wire rack and cool completely.

Storage: in an airtight container at room temperature for up to a week.

Source:  The Good Cookie:  Over 250 Delicious Recipes from Simple to Sublime

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. These cookies look delicious my friend 😀
    I love how both flavours come into it!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Reply
  2. These do look tasty. Hard to resist the blend of vanilla and chocolate swirled together in one cookie-yum! Sorry that the macarons did not turn out, but it looks like you found success in another form. Well done!

    Reply
  3. Yum, these look amazing! I love marble cake but I’ve never had marble cookies – what an awesome idea! 🙂

    Reply
  4. They look absolutely awesome! I would love to try some.

    Reply
  5. Rose

     /  September 16, 2012

    My boyfriend and my friends beg for these cookies! I don’t add nuts, but the white dough gets a ton of cinnamon powder, which adds a bit of spice flavor which is heavenly.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

