Kahlua Spiked Chocolate Crackles

One of my favorite cookies to make at Christmas time is chocolate crinkles.  My husband eats very little chocolate, but for some reason he loves these.  I always try to make a wide variety of cookies, so in the chocolate category, these are it.  I was looking through The Good Cookie and I came across a recipe for chocolate crackles, which is just like a chocolate crinkle, only it is spiked with Kahlua.  Brilliant!  Now, Justin loves crinkles and he also loves Kahlua. How could he not love these cookies? 😀  The dough is simple to make, though I will say, it dirties several bowls.  You also have to be patient and wait for the dough to chill for at least 1 1/2 hours or the dough will be too soft to roll.  After the dough is chilled and rolled, you then cover them in a thick coating of powdered sugar.  As the cookies bake, they puff up and crack, creating a contrast of the powdered sugar-coated outer shell and the dark chocolate cookie inside.  The cookie is a bit more firm on the outside, but the inside is super soft and fudgy like a brownie.  The Kahlua flavor isn’t very strong.  It just gives the cookie a delicious, subtle coffee flavor.  I think my old chocolate crinkle recipe has been replaced.  Besides, who doesn’t need an extra spike of alcohol during the holidays?

On a side note, let me tell you a funny story about the Kahlua.  When I saw this recipe, I knew that I would need to buy some Kahlua because I didn’t have any at home.  I took my three kids to Jewel to pick some up and a few other things.  Flat Stanley also made the trip so I could take his picture with my son Jack for one of his many adventures over spring break.  Jack was very concerned that I was buying alcohol and that I may be an alcoholic!  The funny thing is that I almost never drink.  I have maybe a handful of drinks in a year, mostly for weddings and at holiday parties.  So, I’m not sure where that came from.  When we got home, Jack wrote in his Flat Stanley journal for school about how I took him to the store to buy alcohol and strawberries.  Strawberry daiquiris anyone?  Geez.  I bet his teacher is going to love his story!  😀  But, the fact that the cookies had alcohol in them didn’t deter Jack from eating them.  And, he never says anything to Justin when he drinks a few beers.  Nope,  Jack’s just worried about his mom.  😀  I’m going to take that as he loves me best! 😀

Kahlua spiked chocolate crackles

5 oz bittersweet chocolate, coarsely chopped

1 oz unsweetened chocolate, coarsely chopped

4 Tbsp (1/2 stick) unsalted butter

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

3/4 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

2 large eggs, room temp

2/3 cup granulated sugar

2 Tbsp Kahlua

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 cup confectioner’s sugar, sifted    I did not sift, and it was fine 😀

In the top of a double boiler, combine the bittersweet chocolate, unsweetened chocolate, and butter.  Heat over barely simmering water, stirring occasionally until melted and smooth. Remove the pan from the heat and let the mixture cool slightly.  I melted the chocolates and butter in a glass bowl in the microwave, 20 seconds at a time, mixing at each stop.  If you use the microwave, do not melt completely. Stop when there are still small pieces of chocolate, mixing it with a spatula, allowing the residual heat to finish melting the chocolate until smooth.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, and salt until blended.  Set aside.

In the bowl of an electric mixer, using the whisk attachment, beat the eggs with sugar at med-high speed until pale, about 2 minutes.  Reduce the speed to low, and mix in the cooled chocolate mixture.  Add the Kahlua and vanilla and mix until combined.  Add the flour mixture and mix just until blended.  Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 1.5 hours, until firm enough to shape (up to 2 days).

Position rack in the center of the oven and preheat the oven to 325F.

Place the confectioner’s sugar in a pie plate or shallow bowl.  Shape the dough into 1 1/4 inch balls.  Coat each ball well in confectioner’s sugar and arrange on ungreased baking sheets, spacing them at least 1 1/2 inches apart.  I used parchment.  Bake the cookies 1 sheet at a time for 12 to 15 minutes until the tops are cracked and their edges set, but they are still soft in the center.  Let the cookies cool on the baking sheets for 5 minutes, then transfer to a cooling rack and cool completely.

Store in an airtight container at room temperature for up to 1 week.

Source:  The Good Cookie:  Over 250 Recipes From Simple to Sublime

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Even though there is kalhua how could you not want to devour these! Decadent chocolate-y goodness 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Reply
  2. The classic chocolate crinkle (crackle) is my husband’s all-time favorite cookie. I will have to try this spiked recipe soon…what a terrific twist on a classic! Great job, Kim

    Reply
  3. The original is a favorite of mine, however the twist with the spike tells me that I am going to like these even better. I do see these as ones that will be hard to keep around-yum! Great post!

    Reply
  4. I really like Kahlua and I think I am going to like this recipe too. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

