Chocolate Oven Pancake

Pancakes are one of my favorite breakfasts.  But, making 4 pancakes at a time over the stove or 8 if I feel like dragging out the electric griddle, isn’t always convenient.  It is just so hard to make the bacon or sausage at the same time and keep everything hot, especially with one or two children underfoot.  The solution to this, of course, is to make an oven pancake.  It’s super quick and easy and delicious.  You just make pancake batter, but then spread it on a cookie sheet, bake it and cut it into squares.  While it bakes, you can get all the yummy sides prepared.  Now, that’s what I’m talking about!! 😀

My daughter Sammie is in love with these pancakes.  As she inhaled her pancake, she proudly told my husband how she was tearing up her breakfast.  Which, to me is a feat, because she hardly eats anything for breakfast if it is not cereal.  But, Justin is like, well of course you ate your breakfast Sammie, you had chocolate cake.   To which Sammie replies, “No, not chocolate cake daddy, chocolate pancakes!!”  No use trying to argue semantics with a five year old.  Okay, so maybe these are closer to chocolate cake than pancakes.  So, yeah, they probably aren’t an everyday breakfast but a nice, special, once in awhile breakfast for sure.  To serve, I cut the pancake into squares, dust it with powdered sugar and top it with sweet whipped cream and strawberries.  So see, at least I served it with some fruit!! 😀

 iChocolate Oven Pancake

3/4 cup all purpose flour

1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder   I used Valrhona (dutch processed)

3 Tbsp sugar

1 Tbsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

3/4 cup milk

1 egg, slightly beaten

3 Tbsp butter, melted

2 tsp vanilla

1/3 cup mini semisweet chips

1/4 cup sliced almonds, toasted     I omitted

Preheat the oven to 425F.  In a large bowl, combine flour, cocoa powder, sugar, baking powder, and 1/4 tsp salt.  In a small bowl, combine milk, egg, butter and vanilla.  Add the egg mixture all at once to the flour mixture.  Stir just until moistened.

Pour batter into a greased and floured 15x10x1 baking pan.  I used baking spray and I used a 13×9 pan.  The first time I made this, I used the 15×10 and I thought it was too thin and dry.  When I made it in the 13×9, it was thicker (more pancake-like) and very moist.  Perfect. Sprinkle with the chocolate chips and almonds if using.  Bake for 15 minutes or until the surface looks dry and the edges pull away from the pan.  Mine only took 8 minutes, so watch carefully.  I would start checking at 7 minutes with a toothpick…just try to avoid a chocolate chip.  Cut into 12 squares (if using a 15×10) or 9 squares (if using the 13×9).

Source:  Better Homes and Gardens Annual Recipes 2006

Helpful Hints:

  • I highly recommend baking this pancake in a 13×9, though the original recipe calls for a 15×10.
  • Watch the pancake carefully.  Mine finished in half the time.  Since the pancake is so dark, you can’t watch for color change.  I would do a toothpick check.
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Oh my gosh this looks so good – and I agree, comes out warm and easy to cut and serve 😀
    Great recipe!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Reply
  2. I love such easy, sweet and chocolaty sweets! Yummy!

    Reply
  3. What a clever idea! Like you I like pancakes but, they can be tedious to make in batches.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

