Tiramisu Whoopie Pies

My husband has dubbed me the Queen of Whoopie Pies.  I like it.  They are just so cute, and the cake is so soft and the filling is so creamy.  Really, whoopie pies are just delicious. But don’t take my word for it.  If you haven’t had them, you just have to try them!  But, one isn’t enough.  There are so many flavor combinations between mixing and matching cake and filling flavors.  So, please try a few! 😀

Now, my husband has been asking me to make tiramisu.   I’ll make it someday, but I just haven’t yet because it isn’t my favorite dessert.  Then I got an idea. I’ll make tiramisu whoopie pies!  I figured the combination of tiramisu flavors in a whoopie pie would please us both. So, I pulled out the book Whoopie Pies and found the perfect recipe.  Basically you marble together my favorite vanilla and chocolate whoopie pie batters to make the cake and then make a filling of mascarpone, espresso and rum.  Sounds pretty amazing right?  They were. My husband loved them.  And, hopefully they will tide him over at least for a little while before he starts asking me to make him tiramisu again!  😀

Tiramisu Whoopie Pies

Yield: 30  4 inch cakes

Marbled whoopie pie cakes:

1 recipe chocolate whoopie pie batter

1 recipe vanilla whoopie pie batter

Position a rack in the center of the oven and preheat the oven to 375.  Line 2 cookie sheets with parchment.

Pour half of the vanilla batter into a large shallow bowl.  Add half of the chocolate batter.  Draw a rubber spatula or large wooden spoon gently through the two batters, swirling them together to get marbling.  DO NOT MIX. Repeat with the remaining batter.

Using an ice cream scoop or 2 Tbsp measuring spoon, drop the swirled batter one scoop at a time onto the prepared sheet, at least 2 inches apart.  Bake one sheet at a time for about 15 minutes each, or until the cakes spring back when pressed gently.  Remove from oven and let the cakes cool on the sheets for at least 5 minutes before transferring to a rack to cool completely.

Alternative mini whoopies:  makes about 96 two inch cakes (48 mini pies)
Drop 1 Tablespoon of batter onto the prepared sheet, and repeat, keeping 2 inches apart.  Bake one sheet at a time for 8-10minutes.  Start checking at 7 minutes.  The cakes are done when they spring back when lightly pressed.  Remove from the oven and let cool on the sheets for 5 minutes before transferring them to a rack to cool completely.

Tiramisu Filling:

3 cups powdered sugar

1/2 cup mascarpone cheese, room temperature

4 Tbsp butter, room temperature

1 Tbsp espresso/strong coffee or 1/2 tsp instant espresso powder  You can adjust according to taste.  I upped the espresso powder a bit.

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp rum or Marsala (optional)

I added a bit of heavy cream until it was of piping consistency probably about 1.5 Tbsp

Sift the sugar onto a piece of parchment or wax paper.

In the bowl of a standing mixer with the paddle attachment, beat together the mascarpone and the butter.  Add the sifted sugar and beat on low.  Increase the speed to medium and beat until fluffy, 3 minutes.  Add the espresso, vanilla and rum (if using).  Beat  until combined.  I found the filling to be really thick, so I added some heavy cream, a bit at a time until it was of piping consistency.  I put the filling into a Ziploc bag, cut off a corner, and piped it. 

Helpful hints:

  • I would double the filling recipe- no one likes skimpy filling in their whoopie pies!
  • Piping the filling with a Ziploc bag is really easiest and gives a nice smooth finish.
  • When storing, make sure to put wax paper down first and in between each layer to prevent sticking.  I forgot this step, and my pies stuck terribly! 😦
  • Let the pies sit out for about 2 hours for the filling to set and the cakes to dry.
  • The authors suggest dusting the edges with cocoa powder.

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. I’m honoured to be in this desserts presence – you truly are Queen 😀
    Just want to eat up my screen!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Reply
    • Thanks Choc Chip Uru! You are so sweet! I have so many whoopie pies I want to try…more on the way!! 😀

      Reply
  2. The marble on those cakes is so eye catching! Sure does make me want to bite into one. This is probably the most creative flavored whoopie pies I have ever seen, your hubs had a great idea. Delicious post!

    Reply
    • Thanks TIna! I just love the marbling- that’s my favorite part! Oh, there are so many flavors I want to try. I just got a new whoopie pie book at the bookstore this weekend that has some really different, yummy sounding flavors. So, more to come… 😀

      Reply
  3. I didn’t know there was such a thing as tiramisu whoopie pies. They look divine. Love your site!

    Reply
    • Thanks so much! Honestly, I didn’t either until flipping through that book. There are some crazy combinations that sound really fun and delicious. I can’t wait to try them! 😀

      Reply
  4. Wonderful Recipe! We’re running a contest right now through Facebook. Best picture with a Whoopie Pie wins $1000! http://www.facebook.com/solofoods

    Reply
  5. mmm! I love the sound of this! Tiramisu would make such a great whoopie pie!!

    Reply
  6. rach

     /  April 27, 2013

    so excited to try this recipe, i like to wrap them each in plastic wrap and pop them in the freezer, they are awesome for lunches or a quick little dessert.

    Reply
  7. Krista Deasle

     /  January 5, 2014

    Wow! I made them and they turned out delicious! I added caramel to the center and sprinkled cocoa powder on the edges. That really topped it off!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

