Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Coffee Cake

Coffeecake is one of my husband’s favorite things to have for breakfast.  I saved this recipe from a Penzeys Spice Catalog a long time ago and forgot about it.  I came across it again when I was working on reorganizing a bunch of printed online recipes and recipes torn out of magazines I had before Pinterest.  😀  Justin loves anything with cinnamon sugar, so combine that with coffeecake?  He had to love it!  But, the chocolate chips were a bit iffy, since he doesn’t like chocolate much.  However, he does love chocolate chip cookies, so I decided to keep the chips in and just use half the amount.  Besides, Justin is not the only one eating this cake.  My kids and I love chocolate, so really, I kept them in for us.

Let me warn you, this recipe doesn’t make a lot of batter.  I thought I must have made a mistake measuring something or with the pan size.  But, I read over the recipe several times and I did everything correct and it did call for a 13 x 9 pan.  I was really tempted to change to a 7 x 11 pan.  But I decided no, I will follow the recipe.  So, I spread a thin layer of batter- which the recipe said to pour…umm, no way that is possible with this thick, sticky batter.   Spread is the correct term.  I sprinkled it with cinnamon sugar and chocolate chips, then dolloped the rest of the batter on top.  I used a spatula to carefully spread the dollops into an even top layer- which was not easy because I used too much for the bottom layer.  It looked pretty good, except, I swear the whole thing was less than an inch high.  I was cursing myself for not following my instinct and using the smaller pan.  But what’s done is done and I pressed on, putting my thin little cake in the oven.  I wasn’t having very high hopes, but to my surprise, it puffed up to a normal cake size!   So, what you end up with is a fluffy, yellow cake with a ribbon of cinnamon sugar and chocolate running through the middle and  forming a crust on top to provide some sweetness and texture.   The great thing about this recipe is that you can have a homemade coffeecake on the table for breakfast in less than an hour.  And, any excuse to have cake and chocolate for breakfast…I’m all for it. 😀

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Coffee Cake

Yield: one 13 x 9 cake, about 12 servings

1/2 Cup (1 stick) butter, room temperature

11/4 Cups sugar, divided

2 eggs

1 Cup sour cream

1 tsp. vanilla

2 Cups flour

11/2 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. CINNAMON

1 12-oz. bag chocolate chips  I used a bit more than 1/2 a bag

Preheat oven to 350°.

In a mixing bowl, combine the butter, 1 Cup of the sugar and the eggs. Beat until light and fluffy. Add the sour cream and VANILLA; blend thoroughly on low.

In another bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder and baking soda. Add gradually to the beaten mixture.

Spread half of the batter into a greased and floured 9×13 baking pan (I used Pam for baking). It will be a very thin layer- don’t be tempted to make it thicker, or you won’t have enough for the top layer.In a small bowl, combine the remaining sugar with the cinnamon. Sprinkle half of the sugar-cinnamon mixture and half of the chocolate chips over the batter.  Place small dollops of batter over the cinnamon-sugar/chocolate chips and gently spread the dollops together, so you have an even top layer of batter.  Sprinkle with the remaining sugar-cinnamon mixture and chocolate chips on top. Bake at 350° for 30 minutes. Cool in the pan on a rack.

Source:  Penzeys Spices

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. This cake looks so fluffy 😀
    Totally delicious and a perfect excuse to eat chocolate for breakfast!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Reply
  2. Pretty good thing for breakfast! 🙂 Though I guess I would have it after dinner for a tea time 🙂

    Reply
  3. I am sure you were delighted with the height after baking this, especially since you thought it would be flatter! It does look like a perfectly fluffy and tasty cake. I am partial to the whole chocolate cinnamon mix anyway, so I know I would enjoy a piece. Have a great day!

    Reply
    • Thanks Tina. I was sure surprised how much this puffed up…and thankful. The cinnamon and chocolate were a great combination.

      Reply
  4. This looks so yummy!

    Reply
  5. Lilly

     /  March 10, 2013

    I love this cake, I make it at least 2 times a month! I baked it for my friends and family one day and they kept telling me it’s the BEST cake they ever tasted. Thank you for this recipe!

    Reply
    • Thank you Lilly. I’m so glad you enjoyed it. I love how easy it is to throw together. I think my daughter ate almost the whole cake herself!

      Reply
  6. oaklandmomcat

     /  May 4, 2016

    Thank goodness for the internet. I lost this recipe and it’s a favorite for receptions. To make it extra “grown up”, I substitute shards of high cacao bittersweet chocolate for the semi-sweet chips.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

