Inside-Out S’mores Brownies

When I think of s’mores, I immediately think back to camping with the girl scouts.  I can’t say I’m much of the camping type…well, really not at all.  But, back in the day, we slept on cots, in cabins with wooden floors and cooked all of our food on the campfire.  To me, that was really roughing it.  😀  I remember grilling hotdogs on sticks, fruit cobbler made in a dutch oven covered by coals, and eating s’mores while listening to ghost stories.  It was a long time ago, and I don’t remember much, but of course, I remember the food.

The cold Chicago winters don’t keep me from grilling dinner outside.  I love grilled food!  But, even I’m not crazy enough to go out in the snow and heat up the grill just to make s’mores.  So, I just have to be creative and somehow make indoor s’mores.  I was looking through the latest issue of Better Homes and Gardens and I saw these inside-out s’more brownies.  Basically you make an easy stove top brownie batter, divide it in half, and layer graham crackers and marshmallows in the middle.  It develops the cutest cobblestone top from the brownie batter covering the marshmallows.  So, you get all the familiar flavors of a s’more, while staying nice and toasty inside.  Who says you can’t have s’mores in the winter? Not me. 😀

Inside-Out S’mores Brownies

Yield: a 7 x 11 pan

1/2 cup butter

2 ounces unsweetened chocolate, chopped

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

3/4 cup all-purpose flour

9 honey graham cracker squares

1 cup tiny marshmallows

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line a 11 x 7 x 1 1/2-inch baking pan with parchment paper or lightly grease the pan. Set pan aside.

In a medium saucepan melt the butter and chocolate over low heat. Remove from heat. Stir in sugar, eggs, and vanilla until combined. Stir in flour.

Spread half the batter in the prepared pan. Top with graham crackers (divide as needed to evenly top the batter). Sprinkle marshmallows on the graham crackers, but do not let them touch the sides of the pan. Carefully spread the remaining batter on the marshmallows and graham crackers, covering them completely.  I kind of drizzled the batter on top covering as much of the marshmallows as I could, then I went back, and spread what wasn’t covered with a spatula.

Bake brownies for 25 minutes or until set. Cool completely on a wire rack. Cut into bars.

Source:  Better Homes and Gardens February 2012

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. Omg that picture has me salivating – I care for my hips but I think a bit more for this 🙂
    Looks gorgeous!!!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Reply
  2. These sound AMAZING! I wish we got graham crackers over here. I must try making my own sometime, Great post anyway! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Wow, these sound great! I haven’t had s’mores in years, but I may have to try these out. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  4. Smore’s inside a brownie-yes decadence like this is welcome in my house! This just looks so amazing-awesome post!

    Reply
  5. O geez these look delicious! Gooey marshmallow and graham cracker smushed between a chocolately brownie…yum! Dangerous idea. These look super good!

    Reply
  6. The brownies look wonderful. Smores is just my childhood all over.

    Reply
  7. These look amazing…I’ll have to try them.. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  8. Sara

     /  February 6, 2012

    Love s’mores! I have found memories of camping with you, too. The cots on wood floors is the best type of “camping.” I upgraded to KOA’s where there’s a bed and you bring your own sheets. Did you post this because of GS cookie sales? These look amazing and I’m sure taste amazing, too.

    Reply
  9. I having a “girls night” dinner this week – this is the dessert I want to try!! 🙂

    Reply
    • Sounds fun! This would be a perfect dessert for a girls night- chocolate, marshmallows, and graham crackers…Perfect. Thanks Kate!

      Reply
  10. Joyce

     /  September 8, 2014

    Last week, I found this recipe through Pinterest and made it for a birthday party. Everyone loved it! Thank you!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

