Snickerdoodle Whoopie Pies

When I made the vanilla whoopie pies yesterday, I also made snickerdoodle whoopie pies.  I just didn’t post them because my pictures turned out terrible.  It’s not easy taking a pretty picture of something that is almost all brown 😀  Besides, these were so yummy, they deserved a post all their own.

My husband loves snickerdoodles and he asked me if I could make a snickerdoodle whoopie pie sometime.  Justin rarely makes requests, so I wanted to make these for him.  I looked in my books for a recipe, but I couldn’t find one.   I figured that a snickerdoodle is basically a sugar cookie coated in cinnamon sugar.  So, I could make a vanilla whoopie pie and just sprinkle it with cinnamon sugar for the same effect.  I had Justin taste them to make sure they were what he was looking for.  Well, he ate 8 pies in a half hour, so I guess they were! 😀

Usually I send most of what a bake with Justin to school to share with his students.  But, mid-whoopie pie he turns to me and says “These I am not sharing.”  Sorry kids. 😦

Snickerdoodle Whoopie Pies:

1 recipe vanilla whoopie pie cakes

Cinnamon sugar- I just eyeballed it, heavy on the cinnamon  (If you’re not into eyeballing it, Martha Stewart uses 1/4 cup sugar with 2 tablespoons ground cinnamon to coat her snickerdoodles)

1 recipe marshmallow filling

Follow the recipe for vanilla whoopie pies, except before baking, sprinkle the top of the batter liberally with cinnamon sugar.  Bake according to the recipe.

Source:  Vanilla whoopie pies from Whoopie Pies: Dozens of Mix’ em, Match’em, Eat’em Up Recipes and the marshmallow filling from Martha Stewart

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Yum – a cookie cake cross which tastes like snickerdoodle with icing? Yes please!!!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru
    Latest: Fresh Fruit Tart

    Reply
  2. I still have not tried whoopie pies yet. It’s not something that we get over here in the U.K.! I keep meaning to try out a recipe! Maybe I’ll try out this one first 😉 Great post!

    Reply
  3. These look adorable and delicious! I love snickerdoodles!

    Reply
    • Thanks Jessy! I just love whoopie pies! Like you said, so cute and really…yummy little cakes with sweet creamy filling? What’s not to like?

      Reply
  4. Such a yummy idea! Snickerdoodles are already amazing, soft whoopie pies sound even better 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

