Blondies

I love chocolate chip cookies, but sometimes I just don’t have the time to scoop out and bake sheet after sheet.  I’m sure you can imagine with three kids, time is something that I usually don’t have a lot of.  I can have this batter done in 10 minutes, exactly enough time to sneak away before they realize I am gone. 😀  You don’t even have to take out your big old mixer- this is mixed by hand.  Forgot to take out butter? No problem, this recipe uses melted butter.  Don’t have the ingredients? I bet you do.  They require just basic pantry ingredients, so you are always prepared in an emergency requiring some delicious cookie bars.  It’s so crazy easy.  You just make the batter, spread it in the pan, and bake it.  That’s it.  And, it is so versatile.  The butterscotch cookie is a great base for a variety of mix-ins.  I usually do plain chocolate chip, because I guess am a purist. But M & Ms, Reese’s cups, toffee chips, a sprinkle of sea salt, I could go on and on… they would all be delicious.  And, warm out of the oven with a scoop of ice cream and hot fudge, well that is obviously delicious too. So I think I left you with no excuses.  You just have to make these blondies! 😀

Blondies

Yield:  About 24 blondies (13 x 9 pan)

1 1/2 cup (7.5 oz) all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

12 T (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, melted and cooled

1 1/2 c packed (10.5 oz) light brown sugar

2 large eggs

4 tsp vanilla (Nielsen-Massey if possible- it makes a big difference)

1/2 cup (3 oz) semisweet chocolate chips (I use about 1/3 of the bag)

1/2 cup (3 oz) white chocolate chips (I omit)

1 cup (4 oz) pecans, toasted and chopped (I omit)

Adjust oven rack to middle position and preheat to 350°F.  Line a 13 x 9 with aluminum foil (overhang over pan) and spray with Pam.

Whisk the flour, baking powder, and salt together in a medium bowl.

In a large bowl, whisk the butter and sugar. Whisk in the eggs and vanilla until combined. Stir in flour mixture until just incorporated. Stir in the chips.

Scrape batter into the prepared pan and smooth.  Bake until a toothpick in the center comes out with a few moist crumbs attached, 22-25 minutes, rotate 1/2 way through baking.

Let them cool for 2 hours (ATK’s recommendation- I could never wait that long). Remove from pan by the aluminum foil overhang and cut.

Source:  The America’s Test Kitchen Family Baking Book

Helpful Hints:

  • I don’t melt the butter completely in the microwave. I melt most of it, then I use the residual heat to melt the rest of the butter.  That cools the butter enough to use right away. No wait!
  • You don’t have to line your pan with foil. You can just use spray.  I just like being able to pull the whole bar out and cut them on the table- it makes for much nicer cut blondies.
Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

