Kimmie Cookies

I just adore all the books by the Pastry Queen, Rebecca Rather.  The photos are amazing, most recipes aren’t too difficult, and they all sound really delicious.  Everything I have made from her books has been amazing.  So, I started flipping through and flagging The Pastry Queen Parties, and then gave up because it’s ridiculous to flag every single page.  It kind of defeats the purpose.  😀   So, what should I make first?  Well, since my name is Kim…how could I not make the Kimmie cookies?  😀  The base is a simple shortbread, made up of butter (a whole pound- no this is not a Paula Deen recipe), sugar and flour, flavored with almond or vanilla.  While they are slightly warm, they are frosted with butter frosting.  Sounds delicious right?  Usually, I am more of a soft or chewy cookie kind of girl.  But, these just melt in your mouth and they are just so buttery…they had me sold!

Kimmie Cookies

Yield:  6 dozen cookies

Cookies

2 cups (4 sticks) unsalted butter at room temperature

1 cup sugar for the cookies, plus 1/2 cup sugar for sprinkling (optional)

2 tsp almond extract (I used vanilla)

1/2 tsp kosher salt

4 cups all-purpose flour

Preheat the oven 350°F.  Line 2 baking sheets with parchment. (or spray with cooking spray).

In a mixer bowl with a paddle, beat the butter and 1 cup of sugar on medium-high until light and fluffy, about 2 minutes.  Beat in the almond or vanilla extract and salt.  Add the flour and beat on low until just thoroughly combined.  Using your hands, roll into 1 inch balls (if you have a 1 inch cookie scoop, this is much easier!).  Put 1/2 cup of sugar into a shallow bowl and roll each ball in the sugar (optional- but I recommend it).  Place the cookies 1/2 inch apart on the cookie sheets- I got 16/sheet because they don’t spread much.  Flatten the dough by pressing them down with a juice glass to 1/4 inch thick.   Bake until the bottoms become golden brown, about 10 to 12 minutes.  If the tops brown, they are overdone- so start watching carefully at about 7 to 8 minutes.  Transfer the cookies to a wire rack and frost while the cookies are slightly warm.

Butter Frosting

1/3 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature

1 tsp vanilla extract

Pinch of kosher salt

4 Tbsp (or more) whole milk, slightly warmed

2 cups (or more) powdered sugar

Food coloring (optional)

In a mixer bowl with a paddle, beat the 1/3 cup butter, vanilla , salt, and warm milk on low speed until combined.  Add the powdered sugar and beat on medium until combined.  If the icing seems to runny to spread, add some more powdered sugar.  If it seems to thick to spread, add more milk until it you like the consistency.

Source:Pastry Queen Parties:  Entertaining Friends and Family, Texas Style

Helpful Hints:

  • Rebecca Rather says they are best the day they are baked….I don’t know yet, I’ll have to see tomorrow.  I made them this afternoon and by bedtime I thought they tasted better. I think the cookies softened a bit from the frosting and the flavors melded together.
  • You can make the dough and store it in the fridge for up to a week before baking.
  • Use a 1 inch cookie scoop to portion the dough if you have one.
Next Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. I have been at Rebecca’s bakery in Fredricksburg and I would never miss stopping there. I almost purchased the book my last visit. The way you described these cookies sure makes me want to try them. Also, the presentation did get my attention-love the pastel icing. Thanks for sharing-yum!

    Reply
    • Oh Tina, you are so lucky. I would love to visit her bakery and try some of her delicious looking cookies, bars, pies, cakes….. I could go on and on. Although Rebecca says they are best the day they are made, I found them better the next day- they were softer, which I like. I love pastel icing- it’s nice to be able to change things up with the season/holiday. Thanks!

      Reply
  2. Ok, these are next on my “recipes that I am trying from Kim’s blog” list. They sound crazy yummy. I love shortbread!

    Reply
    • Super yummy Dawn and so easy! The kids loved them! I think they were one of my favorite things I have made since I started my blog. Highly recommended 😀

      Reply
  3. Christy

     /  January 12, 2012

    I made these today. Super easy and the recipe made a ton. Made them with pink frosting and am taking them to a 1st birthday with a Minnie Mouse theme!!

    Reply
    • I’m so glad you liked them! They are surprisingly easy, right? I know, the recipe does make a lot of cookies, but you’ll have no problem getting rid of them! 😀 They will be so adorable at a Minnie party!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

