Cocoa Oatmeal Jumbos

I first made these cocoa oatmeal jumbos about a year ago, brought them to work, and my coworkers went crazy over them.  Everyone asked for the recipe….I just love that!  😀 I had totally forgotten about them though, until I came across them again while flipping through an old Family Circle Annual.  As the name implies, these are some giant, chocolate oatmeal cookies.  They are thin, chewy and super chocolatey from the addition of both cocoa powder and mini chocolate chips.  The recipe also calls for the addition of raisins, but I never liked them- so I left them out.  While these are delicious as is, I had a fabulous idea!  I had some left over Baskin Robbins Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream (the best mint chip ever!) and decided to make an ice cream sandwich.  While this is just a serving suggestion, I am contemplating that it be mandatory. It was that good! 😀

Cocoa Oatmeal Jumbos:

Yield: 18 to 20 large cookies

3/4 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 cup cocoa powder (I used Vahlrona -it makes a huge difference!)

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 sticks (1 cup) unsalted butter, softened

3/4 cup packed light-brown sugar

3/4 cup granulated sugar

2  eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2-1/4 cups old-fashioned oats

1 cup raisins (optional)

1 cup semisweet chocolate chips- I used minis

Clear coarse sugar (optional)

Directions:
Heat oven to 350 degrees F. Line two baking sheets with parchment.
Combine flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt in a bowl. In a large bowl, beat butter and both kinds of sugar until creamy, about 3 minutes. Beat in eggs and vanilla. On low speed, beat in flour mixture, then stir in oats, raisins and chocolate chips.
Dollop 1/4-cupfuls of batter onto prepared baking sheets. Sprinkle on some coarse sugar if desired.  Bake cookies at 350 degrees F for 15- 17 minutes. Let cool on baking sheets for 5 minutes, then transfer cookies to wire racks to cool completely.
Source:  Family Circle Annual Recipes 2008

Helpful Hints:

  • They spread quite a bit, so I got 6/sheet.
  • Watch carefully. It is hard to tell when chocolate cookies are done due to their dark color. Pull them when the edges are done and the middle still is a little wet. They will finish cooking on the sheet.  If they are overcooked, they will be crunchy and may even taste burnt 😦
  • If you make the ice cream sandwiches, make them right before eating or the cookie gets too crispy from the cold ice cream.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Sara

     /  January 4, 2012

    Yum! I was just reading about oatmeal pancakes. I need to eat more “healthy.” I think this cookie recipe will do. LOL! I would love to try it with the ice cream but I think you may be bias on your review of the best mint ice cream considering your had a high school job there (even though I wholeheartedly agree with you). Thanks for sharing the recipe!

    Reply
    • I like how you think Sara! Oatmeal is healthy, so it must follow that a chocolate oatmeal cookie is also healthy! ;D I may be biased, but I have had a lot of mint chip ice cream, because it is my favorite. There is no comparison. It is all about the chips- the thin ribbons of chips in BR versus chocolate chunks!

      Reply
  2. I’ve made lots of oatmeal cookies and tons of chocolate cookies, but I’ve never combined the two. These sound (and look) fantastic. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
    • Thanks Angie! Yeah, they are really different with the combination of an all chocolate cookie with oatmeal. The addition of the oatmeal gives it a great chewiness! Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment! 😀

      Reply
  3. Totally agree about Baskin Robbins Mint Chocolate Chip. It’s the best! It’s all about the chocolate shavings instead of chips. The best people know that. 😉

    Reply
  4. Those cookies look deliciously fudgy. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog till Monday night and I’d love it if you’d come by and link your cookies up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2012/01/sweets-for-saturday-51.html

    Reply
    • Thanks so much Lisa! I have only had my blog now for 2 months, so I am so happy that you invited me to be a part of this yummy round up of sweet treats! I linked three recipes: Cocoa Oatmeal Jumbos, Cinnascones, and Peanut Butter Candy Mini Brownie Cups. Thanks again!

      Reply
  5. Love these cookies! I am always on the lookout for great cookie recipes…and if they have chocolate- even better! Can’t wait to try these!

    Reply
    • Thanks! They are a nice change from the usual oatmeal cookie, being all chocolate. Cookies are my favorite thing to bake. I’m always looking for something different!

      Reply
  6. Found these via Sweet As Sugar’s linky party. They look awesome — can’t wait to try them!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

