French Toast

One of my favorite things to cook is breakfast.  I especially love French toast because it is so quick and easy, requiring only basic pantry ingredients.  I can use my large griddle and get six pieces of French toast cooked at once, so we can all sit down to eat at the same time.  Weeknights can be crazy with my husband or I working late, so we often don’t get to eat dinner together.  But, on Sunday mornings, we are all home for breakfast.  I jump at this chance to catch up on the week and spend some quality time together.

This French toast is a bit unusual in that the coating has flour in it, making it more like a thin pancake batter. I was skeptical at first because I had always made French toast with just milk, eggs, vanilla and sugar.  But, I should know by now to always trust America’s Test Kitchen. Again, they did not let me down.  I like this toast with just butter and powdered sugar, so the subtle vanilla flavor of the batter really comes through.  If you insist on syrup, maybe you can just dip your bacon or breakfast sausage in it?  😀

French Toast

1 large egg

2 Tbsp unsalted butter, melted

3/4 cup milk

2 tsp vanilla

2 Tbsp sugar

1/3 cup unbleached all-purpose flour

1/4 tsp salt

4-5 slices day old challah (3/4 inch thick) or 6-8 slices day old high quality sandwich bread

unsalted butter for frying

Directions:

Begin heating a skillet (preferably cast iron) over medium heat or griddle.

Beat the egg lightly in a shallow bowl or pie plate.  Whisk in melted butter.  Whisk in the milk and vanilla, and finally the sugar, flour and salt.  Continue to whisk until smooth.  Soak the bread 40 seconds a side for challah and 30 seconds a side for sandwich bread. Do not over soak.  Pick up the bread and allow excess batter to run off.

Swirl 1 Tbsp of butter on skillet/griddle.  Cook in a single layer until brown on the first side (about 1 minute and 45 seconds) and 1 minute on the second.  Repeat for new batch.

Source:  The New Best Recipe

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Yum! You’ve inspired me to make french toast for breakfast tomorrow!

    Reply
    • Thanks Russell. I just love French toast and it is an easy sell to my picky husband and kids, so we all win! Thanks for taking the time to stop by and comment. I appreciate it! 😀

      Reply
  2. This is an interesting recipe. I do love french toast but rarely make it since my husband is into savory breakfasts. Yours does look perfectly toasted and delicious. Yum!

    Reply
  3. dude, u sooo know whats up!! i have figured that anyone who deems this recipe as their “go-to french toast recipe” 1st off: has tried a lot of recipes and 2nd off: isn’t just posting recipes just to “post recipes” but instead are posting only “best” recipes. this french toast recipe puts all other french toast to shame

    Reply
    • Thanks Anickkh. I’m so glad you liked it. I just made it the other night when the kids and I had breakfast for dinner. It was so good! Those guys at America’s Test Kitchen have never let me down. 😀

      Reply

Leave a Reply

