Cream Wafers

Okay, so I know Christmas is over. But, I have one last Christmas cookie to share because it is my absolute favorite.  After fulfilling everyone else’s cookie requests, I just didn’t have a chance to make these cream wafers until the last minute on Christmas Eve.  These are cookies from my childhood, the cookies that I made with my mom in preparation for Christmas.  The recipe comes from the super fun 1963 Betty Crocker’s Cooky Book.  Yep, going old school.😀 I brought some to my mother-in-law’s house for Christmas and they loved them.  But, I was kind of surprised that none of them had ever seen them before.  The wafer part of the cookie reminds me of sugared pie crust.   Kind of like my mom used to make with pie crust scraps, sprinkled with sugar and baked until crisp. Then, they are filled with a sweet, pastel colored buttercream frosting.  Okay, so maybe it is too late for Christmas cookies.  But you can change the shape and the color of the filling to suit any holiday.  I think hearts with pink frosting would be really cute for Valentine’s Day.  If you squish the frosting out a touch on the sides, you could even roll them in sprinkles.  Am I trying too hard to justify making these cookies after Christmas?  Maybe…but these are way too good to be designated Christmas only cookies!😀

Cream Wafers

1 cup butter ( I used softened)

1/3 cup whipping cream (35% butterfat)

2 cups all purpose flour (Gold Medal recommended)

granulated sugar for coating

Measure flour by dipping method (dip cup into flour, pull it up with heaping flour, level off with a spatula).  Mix butter, cream and flour thoroughly in a mixer bowl. Chill 1 hour.

Preheat oven to 375°F.  Roll dough to 1/8″ thick on a lightly floured surface.  Cut into 1 1/2″ rounds (or another shape you like).  Transfer to a wax paper heavily sprinkled with sugar, turning to coat both sides very well.  Place on an ungreased sheet- I used parchment paper.  Prick in 4 places with a fork. Bake 7 to 9 minutes, or until they start to puff and barely brown on the bottoms.  Sandwich two cookies together with the filling.

Frosting

1/4 cup soft butter

3/4 cup sifted powdered sugar

1 tsp vanilla

food coloring if desired

Blend the soft butter, powdered sugar and vanilla in a mixer bowl until well combined. Add tint if desired.  I made my cookies on the small side, so I needed more frosting.  I suggest making 1 and 1/2 recipes of frosting.

Source:  Betty Crocker’s Cooky Book

Next Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. oh-you had me at “sugared pie crust”, that statement makes it an addition to my to do list. I am so craving these. I do agree-not just for the holidays. Your picture is amazing-yum!

    Reply
    • Thanks Tina. These are especially dangerous because they are small enough to be mouth poppable! They are just so buttery and creamy. Maybe not everyday cookies, but definitely a special treat!😀

      Reply
  2. Jenn Vail

     /  December 29, 2011

    Thanks so much for posting these! I’m lurker on The Nest and no idea what cream wafers were, I kept forgetting to look them up. This will be the perfect use of some left over whipping cream.

    Reply
    • Thanks Jenn! Yeah, this is a pretty old recipe, from at least the 60’s so you don’t see them much!! I love old recipes….maybe they’ll make a comeback! Heavy cream is so expensive now, I hate to waste even a little bit. This recipe only needs 1/3 cup, so it is perfect for that! Thanks for taking the time to comment. I appreciate it!😀

      Reply
  3. These look great- I am such a sucker for old cookbooks!

    Reply
  4. Sometimes old school is best! I still use the Betty Crocker cookbook I got when my husband and I got married 15 years ago all the time!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

