One step pound cake

Everyone has at least one recipe that they are known for, their signature recipe.  One of mine is this one step pound cake and it is about time I share it with you.  I don’t know the source, but it has been in my family for as long as I can remember. My mom thinks it came from one of those church compilation cookbooks, but isn’t sure.  This could be a family secret recipe….but honestly, I just don’t get secret recipes.  Besides making my family things they enjoy eating, sharing recipes with others is what I love about baking.  Is there really a better compliment than when someone asks you for a recipe?

Last night we hosted the last of our Christmas gatherings and I made pound cake for dessert. We don’t see my husband’s family often, so when we do, I have to make sure that this pound cake is on the menu.  They just go crazy for it and I don’t want to let anyone down.  The best thing about this pound cake is that there is no separation of ingredients. You just dump everything in to a mixer bowl, mix 3 minutes and done.  I can have the batter made in about 15 minutes and then bake for an hour.  How easy is that? 😀  I like to serve mine with sweetened strawberries with whipped cream, but it is delicious straight up too.  As if my husband would eat a strawberry!  But, now that he saw that strawberries touched the pound cake he ate… 😀

One-Step Pound Cake

Yield:  1 bundt

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

2 cups sugar

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 cup sour cream

1 cup very soft unsalted butter

1 tsp vanilla

3 eggs, room temperature

Vanilla bean, scraped or 1/2 tsp vanilla bean paste (optional)

Preheat oven to  325°F.  Grease a bundt pan with butter and flour. Set aside.

Put all ingredients into a mixer bowl and beat on medium, with a paddle, for 3 minutes.  Pour into prepared pan.

Bake 55-60 minutes.  It is ready when a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out with a few crumbs.

Source:  My mom, Linda, from an unknown source

Helpful Hints:

  • Make sure your butter is really soft so it incorporates well into the batter
  • Butter you pan well.  I then put a bit of flour in my hands and clap them together over the pan so you get a fine mist of flour, instead of clumps.
  • I have used cooking spray with and without flour in the past and I have had a lot of sticking issues and they often leave a film on the pans that is almost impossible to remove.
  • I think that the pound cake tastes better the next day.
  • Let the cake cool in the pan for 15 minutes before turning out onto your serving plate.
  • This cake is a good base for other flavors. Mix in Oreos, chocolate chips, add a layer of cinnamon sugar, use different extracts….
Next Post
Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. maeghan

     /  December 28, 2011

    Yum! This looks great!

    Reply
  2. Jess Kelly

     /  January 26, 2012

    If I want to do a layer of cinnamon and sugar–do I just pour in half the batter, then sprinkle my cinnamon and sugar layer, then put the remaining batter on top? This is what I’m thinking, but I don’t want to screw up!

    Also–having not made this before, what quantity of cinnamon and sugar do you think is appropriate? Also–I was thinking that I would make a sort of butter/cinnamon/sugar layer so that in the cake it is sort of moist/a bit gooey. Bad idea? Do you think that will work?

    I love having an expert baker to consult!

    Reply
    • Hey Jess!

      Yeah, that’s what I would do: 1/2 batter, cinnamon sugar, then other 1/2 of the batter.

      Hmmm… I don’t know about the butter- that might make it too moist. But I found two Bundt coffee cakes with a cinnamon swirl that sound like what you are looking for. One had: 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon and 1/4 cup white sugar and the other used: 2 Tablespoons ground cinnamon and 1/2 cup brown sugar for the swirl. I think they both sound really good. You could do a glaze though if you want- a powdered sugar glaze or a cream cheese glaze like a cinnamon roll. That might make it a bit more moist/gooey?

      Ha! I’ll do my best! 😀

      Reply
      • Jess

         /  January 26, 2012

        Excellent! Thank you! I am going to try doing the brown sugar one–I think that will give it the sort of gooey factor I’m going for. I’m making it next weekend and I’ll let you know how it goes.

        Keep blogging! I love it!

      • Yes. Let me know. I’ve never tried that before, but it sounds delicious. Justin loves this pound cake and he loves snickerdoodles- so I bet he would love this. I might have to give it a try! 😀

        Thanks Jess! It’s fun for me and gives me all the more reason to bake!

  3. Jess Kelly

     /  February 7, 2012

    Delish, Kim! A big hit at our Super Bowl party! I did the cinnamon and brown sugar mix–putting in half the batter, then then cinnamon/brown sugar, then the remaining batter. The taste was very good–the cake itself was perfect– the cinnamon and sugar got a bit hard, almost crunchy. I think I would use a bit less next time, making a thinner layer might help, as it seemed like the areas that got crunchy were the areas where the cinnamon and sugar were thickest. Or. . .maybe using white sugar would alleviate that issue altogether?

    Reply
    • Yeah! I’m so glad you liked it!! I’m not sure about the brown vs regular sugar…only way to know is give it a try. It is a really good pound cake- a really good base for lots of variations. It is so crazy easy, so all the better! 😀

      Reply
  4. Anh

     /  July 31, 2012

    I have this exact pan and just baked this cake last night. I brought it into work today to rave reviews. People all commented on how moist the cake was and I had to make the first cut because it was “too pretty to eat”. Thank you for the greasing suggestion. Using the butter wrapper to grease it and clapping my hands with flour over the cake made it come out perfectly!

    Reply
    • I’m so glad you enjoyed it, Anh! It is a family favorite. I love using my bundt pan because it makes the cake look so fancy, even though the recipe is super easy!

      Reply
  5. Laurel

     /  May 9, 2016

    I’ve been making this cake since I was a wee child….so, 20 years (that’s my story and I’m stickin’ to it!) I’m pretty sure it came from one of the little Pillsbury cookbooks that you buy at the checkout in a grocery store. I read online that it was 1969. That sounds about right.

    Reply
  1. Chocolate Chip Sour Cream Muffins |

Leave a Reply

