Cappuccino Fudge

I don’t make a lot of candy at Christmas, mostly because I prefer baking cookies. But it just doesn’t feel like Christmas without homemade fudge and buckeyes.  Many times fudge recipes require using a candy thermometer.  And while I do own one, I don’t use it much because it can make something simple like fudge a lot more complicated than it has to be.  So, that is why I love this cappuccino fudge recipe I found on Annie’s Eats several years ago. No thermometer required.  Perfect.  The addition of espresso and cinnamon is a nice change from the usual fudge. It is really creamy and in the words of my 4 yo daughter, both amazing and incredible.  I always double the batch, since the original recipe only makes an 8 x 8 pan. That would never be enough for my family. :D  Since it keeps so well in the fridge, I can make it far in advance of Christmas and have it last quite awhile…that is if I can keep my children from eating it all!!

Cappuccino Fudge
Ingredients:

1 (7 oz.) jar marshmallow cream
½ cup sugar
2/3 cup heavy whipping cream
¼ cup butter
1 tsp instant espresso powder
¼ tsp cinnamon
¼ tsp salt
1 (12 oz.) bag semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:

Line an 8 x 8 baking pan with foil, allowing for overhang on all four sides. Set aside while you prepare the fudge.

In a 2 qt. saucepan, combine Fluff, sugar, heavy cream, butter, espresso powder, cinnamon and salt.  Over medium heat, stir constantly and bring to a boil.  Continue to stir and boil x 5 minutes. Remove the pan from the heat.  Stir in the chocolate chips until completely smooth. Pour the fudge into the prepared pan.

Cover and refrigerate at least 4 hours. When solid, remove the fudge from the pan pulling up by the foil overhang. Place it on a cutting board and cut into squares.  How many, depends on how big you cut them. But, this is pretty rich fudge.

Source: Annie’s Eats

Helpful Hints:

  • This recipe is the original recipe for an 8×8 pan of fudge.  I double all ingredients and cook it in an 8 quart stock pot, and spread it in an aluminum foil lined 13×9 pan.
  • Make sure you mix the chocolate chips until smooth so no pieces of chocolate remain.
  • I drop the pan on the counter to try to pop any air bubbles before refrigeration.
  • I find the fudge cuts better when cold, but tastes better at room temperature.
Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. I will definately give this recipe a try. It looks and sounds delicious. I already saved it in my favorite list! Thanks!!

    Reply
  2. The fudge does look tasty-no doubt the addition of the espresso powder really amps this up to something extra special. Sinfully delicious!

    Reply
    • Thanks Tina! Yeah, the espresso powder really brings out the chocolate flavor and the cinnamon is a nice addition too. But, my kids love it, so neither is super strong…just right😀

      Reply
  3. Mmm looks smooth, rich, and delicious! I love fudge at Christmas time🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks Colleen! It just doesn’t seem like Christmas without fudge! It is really good. My kids just love it and ask for brownies, as they call it, everyday.😀 Congrats on your 100th post!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

