Heavenly Hots

On nights when my husband isn’t home for dinner, I usually don’t feel like making a big dinner for just the three of us. Especially since I know my kids will hardly eat any of it.  So, one of our favorite meals and one I know they will eat without complaint, is breakfast for dinner.  Somehow eating pancakes or French toast at dinnertime seems like a special treat.

I wanted to make pancakes, but I wanted to change it up a bit from my regular buttermilk recipe. I remembered  making a pancake called Bridge Creek Heavenly Hots from Marion Cunningham awhile back and I thought I would revisit them. These pancakes are different because they have a high sour cream to flour ratio: 2 cups sour cream to just 1/4 cup cake flour.  So, they are very delicate, tangy, and almost custard-like in texture. But because of this, they are very difficult to flip without disaster. I was reading through a  Cook’s Country magazine and they tried the same recipe with the same flipping difficulties. The author made some changes that I thought increased the pancake’s integrity without sacrificing the delicate texture.  But still, these can’t be made much larger than a silver dollar or they will fall apart, creating a big mess. But, trust me, they still taste delicious 😀 My kids loved their cute size and enjoyed them with powdered sugar, chocolate chips, syrup and whipped cream.  At the end of the meal, Jack and Sammie asked  “We ate good. Can we have dessert”?  Umm…of course you ate good. Dinner was  dessert! So, good try, but no. 🙂

Heavenly Hots:

Yield: 32 small pancakes, serves about 4.

1/4 cup all-purpose flour

3 Tbsp sugar

1 tsp cornstarch

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp baking soda

2 cups sour cream

3 large eggs, lightly beaten

1/2 tsp vanilla

3 Tbsp unsalted butter for frying

Combine flour, sugar, cornstarch, baking powder, salt, and baking soda in a medium bowl. Whisk sour cream, eggs, and vanilla in a large bowl until smooth. Gently fold flour mixture into the sour cream mixture until incorporated.

Heat 2 tsp of butter in a large nonstick skillet over medium low until butter begins to sizzle. Place five 1 Tbsp scoops of batter in the pan, cover, and cook until the tops appear dry and bottoms are golden, ~ 1.5 to 2 minutes.  Gently flip and cook uncovered, until golden brown, about 30 seconds.  Repeat.

Source: Cook’s Country Feb/March 2011

Helpful Hints:

  • Do not be tempted to use more than 1 Tbsp of batter at a time or the pancakes will break.
  • If you want to eat all the pancakes at once, before starting, preheat oven to 200°F.  Transfer to a rimmed baking sheet and place in the oven until you are ready to serve.
Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Glad to see I am not the only one that enjoys breakfast foods for dinner. These do look light and delicious, I love the toasty look in the picture-yum!

    Reply
    • Thanks Tina! My favorite breakfast is pancakes. So, if I can have pancakes for another meal…well, that just makes me happy 😀 Then throw some bacon on the side for protein! Yum is right!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

