Fudge-Filled Chocolate Chip Cookies:

Let me just start off by saying that this recipe comes from a book called big fat cookies.  What a great name for a book!  I love cookies and the bigger, the fatter the better. I was flipping through the book and was in quite a quandary because every recipe looked amazing.  I finally narrowed it down to four, but I just couldn’t decide. So, I did what I usually do when I can’t make a decision and that is make my husband choose for me. Justin picked Fudge-Filled Chocolate Chip Cookies.  If you remember my husband does not like chocolate, but he makes an exception for chocolate chip cookies. Who could blame him? Chocolate chip cookies are just plain delicious. 😀

I was surprised to find that these cookies are actually more like a whoopie pie than a typical chocolate chip cookie. The author, Elinor Klivans, adapted the cookie recipe from her mother’s recipe for brown sugar chocolate chip cake, so I guess that stands to reason.  The batter is thinner than your usual chocolate chip cookie and be forewarned, it spreads, a lot.  When the cookies are done baking, they have a golden, almost crisp outer crust and a soft cakey center. You then slather a thick, fudgy frosting on the bottoms and sandwich 2 cookies together, pressing them until just before the frosting oozes from the sides. How bad could that be? 😀  My 4 year old daughter, Sammie, told me that they look fabulous and taste scrumptious. Good enough for me!

 Fudge-Filled Chocolate Chip Cookies:

Yield: 12 big fat sandwich cookies

Cookies:

2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour

2 cups packed light brown sugar

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 cup (1 stick) COLD unsalted butter, cut into pieces

1 large egg

1 tsp vanilla

1 cup sour cream

2 Tbsp whole milk

1 1/2 cups (9 oz) semi-sweet chocolate chips

Filling:

1/2 cup heavy (whipping) cream

2 Tbsp unsalted butter, cut into pieces

1 1/3 cups (8 oz) semisweet chocolate chips

Position rack in middle. Preheat oven to 325°F. Line two baking sheets with parchment and butter the paper.

To make the cookies: In a mixer bowl, on low speed, mix the flour, brown sugar, and baking soda. Add the butter and continue mixing until butter pieces are the size of peas, about 2 minutes (you will still see some loose flour).  Stop the mixer and scrape the sides as needed while mixing. Mix in the egg and vanilla- don’t worry, the batter still looks dry. Add the sour cream and milk, mix until the batter is evenly moistened. You may still see some small pieces of butter. Mix in the chocolate chips.

Drop about 3 level Tbsps at least 2.5 inches apart onto the prepared sheets. I measured for the first one, but the batter is sticky, so I just eyeballed it for the rest. Try to get as close to the same size, so the cookies bake evenly and match up when making the sandwiches.  The recipe says this can be done on two cookie sheets. I got 8 to a sheet and a few of my cookies spread enough to touch a bit. Bake until the tops feel soft but firm and the edges are slightly brown and crisp, and a toothpick in the center comes out clean, ~17 minutes. I rotated the sheet halfway. Cool the cookies on their sheets for 10 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

The Filling:

In a medium saucepan, heat the cream and butter over low heat until it forms little bubbles, 175°F by thermometer. Do not let the mixture boil. Remove from heat and add the chocolate chips. Once the chips soften for ~3o seconds, whisk until the filling is smooth. Transfer to a bowl, and let it sit at room temperature for 45 minutes or 20 minutes in the fridge.

Match up the cookies as close as you can by size, and frost the bottom halves and place the remaining cookies on top. Wrap them individually in plastic wrap and store in the fridge or at room temperature for up to 3 days.

Source:big fat cookies by Elinor Klivans

Helpful Hints:

  • I recommend wrapping them in plastic wrap, individually. I didn’t and they stuck to each other and the bottom of the storage container.
  • I find chocolate chips hard to measure accurately by the cup, so I weigh them. If you have a food scale, it’s really the best and easiest way.
  • Be sure to leave plenty of space between these cookies- they spread!
  • Try to get the dough on the sheets as close in size as possible and try to keep them round, for nicer shaped cookies.
  • Next time I would use less chocolate chips in the cookie because the filling is so chocolatey.  I think mini chocolate chips would be great in these instead.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Great way to amp up delicious chocolate chip cookies, turning them into sandwich cookies oozing with fudge in the middle-yum! Nice tip to use mini morsels. I use those quite a bit in baked goods.
    Yes one big cookie is so much heartier than the little ones, that book does sound like a good choice.

    Reply
    • Thank you! They were really delicious. I think my kids and I each got only one because my husband ate them all! 😀 Yes, this book has so many great recipes. Her books are all great. I actually made a dessert from another one of her books to post Friday and it was amazing! Hope you get a chance to check it out!

      Reply
  2. Now I want cookies and milk for breakfast!

    Reply
  3. The “cookies” remind me a little bit of OREO Cakesters, but obviously, like a super-awesome gourmet version of Cakesters.

    Reply
    • I guess you should know better than any of us, since you ate like 9 of the 12 😀 Yeah, a bit like Cakesters in texture for sure!

      Reply
  4. WOW these look so sinfully delicious! Can I have like 5 of these please?? Love your blog, so glad to be a new follower! xoxo

    Reply
    • Thank you so much Kelly! They really were good! I was looking at your blog and your pictures are amazing! I also love that you list the nutritional information. Most of my food is high in butter, cream, and chocolate (Yum)…but it is probably in my best interest to alternate my desserts with some of your Eat Yourself Skinny desserts! They look great! Luckily, I give most of my food away to my husband’s high school students. So I get a taste, and they are gone! 😀

      Reply

Leave a Reply

