Hunka Chunka Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

I grew up eating my mom’s Toll House chocolate chip cookies and it was the recipe that I used myself up until a few years ago.  One day, I was looking through The New Best Recipe and I came across the recipe for Thick and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies.  I told my husband that I was going to try a new chocolate chip cookie recipe and he wondered why, when the Toll House cookies were so good.  I shrugged and went to work.  I should have known that a recipe from America’s Test Kitchen would produce a delicious cookie, but those blew me away.  Everywhere I took them, the cookies were all anyone could talk about.  I felt like a culinary rock-star! 😀 I loved it! But, I got bored making the same recipe over and over again, so I decided it was time to try a new recipe.  Again, Justin asked why another recipe when these are perfect. As before, I shrugged, thinking to myself that I would never have found the ATK chocolate chip cookies if I had listened to him, so maybe I might find a better recipe.  And, to my surprise, I think I have.  So, not to keep you in suspense, they are called Hunka Chunka Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies from Sticky, Chewy, Messy, Gooey Treats for Kids. I think it was mostly the funny name that caught my attention, but make no mistake, these are some serious cookies.  These babies are: big, fat, saucer-sized, crispy edged, soft centered, chocolate chip filled, bakery style cookies.  I really don’t see a point in making cookies any other way. Besides, don’t you somehow feel better eating one big cookie versus three small cookies?   Now, I am sure you have your own tried and true, perfect chocolate chip cookie recipe…but so did I, until now.

 

Hunka Chunka Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies:

Yield: 18 really big cookies

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, melted and cooled

1 cup firmly packed dark brown sugar

1 cup sugar

1 tbsp vanilla

2 eggs, plus 1 yolk

3 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

3 cups chocolate chips (I use about 1 bag- 2 cups)

Line 2 pans with parchment and set aside.

In a mixer bowl, mix together melted butter, brown sugar, sugar, vanilla, egg and egg yolk. In a medium sized bowl, mix together the dry ingredients (flour, baking soda, salt) and sift into the mixer bowl. Stir the ingredients together by hand to form a soft dough and then mix in the chocolate chips.

Using a 2 oz. self-releasing ice cream scoop or a 1/4 cup, make large balls of even sized dough. Place 9 balls of dough, evenly spaced on 1 parchment lined sheet. Chill the dough on the cookie sheets for a minimum of 30 minutes and up to overnight.

Preheat the oven to 350°F.  Bake until they are barely turning golden on the edges but still appear a bit underdone in the center, about 15 to 17 minutes. Keep the cookies on the baking sheet for a few minutes to finish baking and to make them firm enough to transfer to a wire rack for cooling.

Source: Sticky, Chewy, Messy, Gooey Treats for Kids by Jill O’Conner; Thick and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies recipe available on Annie’s Eats

Helpful Hints:

  • Do not over bake or they won’t be chewy. Start checking at about 13 minutes. They will appear a bit under done in the middle, but they will finish baking a bit on the cookie sheet.
  • Make sure to use dark brown sugar.  It really intensifies the butterscotch flavor of the cookie
  • Add up to 3 cups of chocolate chips. I add about two, because as much as I love chocolate, too much overwhelms the taste of the cookie.
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Watch our Mrs. Fields!

    Reply
  2. Nicole

     /  January 1, 2012

    I had to buy the ingredients for these cookies (especially after I ate one for breakfast the morning after Christmas!!). I hope to make them this week and I am keeping my fingers crossed that they turn out half as good as yours!! 🙂

    Reply
  3. I Love using dark brown sugar! A little change can make a huge difference. Love your blog!

    Reply
  4. I was thinking about making half a recipe, but the eggs are a problem. Do you think putting 1 egg and 1 yolk is going to change the result?

    Reply
    • I think it will be different. You could always make a whole batch, bake 1/2 and portion the rest out to freeze and pull some out when you just want a few cookies.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

