Black and White Cookie Ripple Coffee Cake

Today I was reading through a stack of baking cookbooks, looking for the perfect recipe for my first blog post. I came across cookie after cookie, and brownie after brownie recipe. Now, don’t get me wrong, I love cookies and brownies. But, they just didn’t seem special enough. Then, while paging through A Passion for Baking, I came across the recipe for Black and White Cookie Ripple Coffee Cake and suddenly my search was over.  The name is quite a mouthful I know, but I can assure you that this is quite a cake. The cake bakes up tall, moist and golden, developing an almost pound cake like texture.  There is a fudgy marbling through the center, a topping of crushed Oreos and vanilla glaze drizzle. Some of my favorite desserts are coffee cake and Oreos with milk. But, this recipe combines them into one cake, and I have to say, that is just brilliant! The resulting cake is quite a showstopper, but it really isn’t difficult to make.  The hardest part, honestly, is chopping the Oreos without them flying all over the kitchen.  The cake is a basic batter, divided into two layers by the chopped Oreo cookies, creating a beautiful, dark swirl throughout the middle of the cake. The usual butter, flour and sugar streusel of most coffeecakes is replaced by chopped Oreos, which retain some of their crunchiness and add some texture to the cake. Finally a powdered sugar glaze finishes the cake with a hint of vanilla and just the right amount of sweetness.  As much as I love Oreos dipped in milk, a big slice of this cake and a cup of coffee….Well, let’s just say there is now some competition.


Black and White Cookie Ripple Coffee Cake:

Yield: 12-16 servings

Cake:

1 cup unsalted butter, softened

2 cups sugar

6 large eggs

1 Tbsp vanilla extract

1 3/4 cups buttermilk

4 cups all-purpose flour

4 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

30 Oreos, coarsely chopped

Glaze:

1 1/2 cups powdered sugar

2 to 6 Tbsp water, as required

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350°F.  Line a cookie sheet with parchment. Generously spray a 9 inch tube pan with cooking spray and place on prepared sheet.

Mixer bowl:  Cream butter and sugar on medium until well combined. Add 2 eggs at a time, blending on medium, scraping down sides of the bowl, until well blended. Add vanilla and buttermilk, blending well.  Fold in the dry ingredients (flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt) and blend until smooth, about 2 to 4 minutes.

Pour 2/3s of the batter into the tube pan and sprinkle with 2/3s of the Oreo pieces- placing more on the outside than the middle (so they stay in place). Top with the remaining batter and sprinkle the remaining cookie pieces evenly on top.

Bake for 45 minutes @ 350°F, then reduce temperature to 325°F. Finish baking until a toothpick tests almost clean, about 15- 20 minutes (Mine took much longer, more towards 30 minutes). Cool 10 minutes in pan, before turning out onto a cake plate.

For Glaze: In a small bowl, whisk the powdered sugar, water (start with 2 Tbsp) and vanilla together. Add more water, a little at a time, until it reaches drizzling consistency. Drizzle the glaze over the cake with a whisk or fork, allowing some to run down the sides of the cake for the best appearance.

Source:  A Passion for Baking by Marcy Goldman

Helpful Hints:

  • I had a hard time getting the center cone to lift out of the tube pan frame because some of the batter leaked at the bottom, and baked, sealing them together. I just lifted the pan so I could see the underside, and ran a thin, sharp knife between the two metal parts.
  • Once you remove the cake from the frame, it is still on the middle cone. I ran a sharp knife between the cake and the cone’s flat bottom. I placed the cake, still attached to the cone, on a large plate and put a large plate on top. Quickly with one hand holding each plate in place, I flipped the cake out onto what was the top plate. But, now the cake is streusel side down, so you have to flip it again.
  • During the cake removal/flipping process, the cake loses quite a bit of streusel. I saved it and sprinkled it back onto the cake, which then was set in place with the glaze.
  • When I was making the cake, it seemed like there were a ton of Oreos in the middle, but some of them disappeared in the ripple. So, I think I would increase the amount of Oreos in the middle of the cake.
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. AP Pysch Girls

     /  November 15, 2011

    your baking is AHHHHMAAAZZINNGGGG!!!!!!!!!!
    thank you!
    LOVE AP PSYCH GIRLS ❤ ❤ ❤

    Reply
  2. Sounds fantastic and, I dare say, easy! The photos are awesome too!! Love it. 🙂

    Lots of luck with your blog!! (By the way, you might want to either share your first name or give your readers some way to address you!)

    Reply
    • Thanks so much Dawn! I have my information in the teeny tiny About tab on the top left. But I need to figure out how to make it more prominent on the right side, so at least some info about me is displayed directly on my home page instead of it being totally hidden in the About tab. I thought that might be a problem, so thanks for pointing it out so I can work on it!

      Reply
  3. Can’t wait for more pics and recipes 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

