“Black” and White Cookies

"Black" and White Cookies

I must admit, I am a total magazine junkie. I have like 10-12 subscriptions going at a time. Cook’s Illustrated, Cook’s Country, Taste of Home, Taste of the South, All-You, Simple and Delicious, Woman’s Day…..As if I have time to read them all. I usually keep them in a stack on my nightstand and try to read one before bed. I was flipping through Good Housekeeping recently and I saw this recipe for “black and white” cookies. I have made true black and whites before, but the spring colors on these really caught my eye.  Why didn’t I think of this?  There is no chocolate frosting, much to my husband’s delight.  Instead you have half white and half a pretty pastel or whatever color you choose. How cute!

Justin was gone all weekend coaching his high school team in the national scholastic bowl tournament, so I decided to bring the kids to my parents for the day.  When I show up with all 3 kids, I feel like I need to bring some type of baked good as peace offering. :) So, I got up super early and started these cookies. They were all baked and I was just starting to frost them when my 3 year old son and 7 year old daughter woke up. Oh boy. Now, I had to work quickly and so sorry, the frosting job isn’t the best. I let my daughter frost the last few cookies while I took pictures and left those home for Justin, taking the rest to my parents. When I got home, I just walked in the door and Justin was asking “Where are the rest of those cookies?!  They are like bakery quality!”  I was glad to hear that because when I first made them, I was disappointed when I tried them..too powder sugary. Ugh, the wasted time and ingredients. But, after they set for about 6 hours or so, the flavors combine nicely and they were just delicious. They are super soft, cake-like actually. And the frosting is thick and sweet, with a pretty sheen. These cookies are quite a PITA kind of project, but given Justin says they are the best thing I have made all year, I believe I will be making them again soon.  Father’s Day perhaps??

“Black” and White Cookies
Yield: 36 cookies   I only got 24 cookies, but I think I made them too big

For the cookies:

2 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) butter, softened
1 cup granulated sugar
2 large eggs
1/2 cup buttermilk, well shaken

Preheat oven to 350F.
Line a cookie sheet(s) with parchment. I prefer to bake cookies 1 sheet at a time.
In medium bowl, combine flour, baking soda, and salt with a whisk.
In the bowl of your KitchAid, on medium with the paddle, beat butter and granulated sugar ~3 minutes or until fluffy.
Beat in eggs one at a time.
With the mixer on low, add flour mixture alternately with buttermilk. Begin and end with the flour mixture.  I did 3 additions of flour, separated by 2 buttermilk. 
Drop dough by rounded tablespoonfuls about 2 inches apart onto the cookie sheet(s).
Bake 13 to 15 minutes or until golden, rotating the sheet(s) halfway through.
Allow cookies to cool on the cookie sheet for a few minutes before transferring to a cooling rack- bottoms up.

For the glaze:    (or this one)

1 pound powdered sugar
2 Tablespoons of milk   (not nearly enough, I added 6 tablespoons total)
2 tablespoon light corn syrup
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/2 tsp vanilla (optional)
Assorted food colorings   Americolor is best

In a bowl, with your hand mixer or KitchAid on low, beat the powdered sugar, corn syrup, milk, and salt until smooth.
Start with the 2 tablespoons milk called for in the recipe and add 1 tablespoon at a time until you get the right consistency. You want it spreadable, but not thin.  I added 6 tablespoons total.
Keep 1/2 of the icing white in the mixing bowl.
The other half of the icing can be divided into bowls and dyed with food coloring as desired.
Spread the icing on the cookie’s flat sides. I did the white first, then the colored side.
Let set 30 minutes.

Source:  Good Housekeeping, Note: the online recipe left the milk out of the glaze.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I adore the pastel icing colors! What a scrumptious take on the classic Black & White cookie!

    Reply
  2. So pretty! It would be fun customizing your two favorite colors on each cookie. :)

    Reply
  3. Cindy

     /  June 10, 2014

    In my neck of the woods we call these half moons. Either way they are delicious! I’ll have to give this recipe a try.

    Reply
  4. They’re adorable!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,118 other followers

