Top 12 of 2012

Wow! I can’t believe that my blog is old enough to even have a Top 12 of 2012 post!  Well okay, since my blog only a year old, it is more like a Top 12 of my entire blog…period.  :D

So, here are your favorites of 2012:

12.  Blueberry Swirl Streusel Muffins  Big, fat bakery style muffins, filled with blueberries, swirled with homemade jam and topped with streusel.   Perfection.  For now at least…

Blueberry Swirl Muffins

11.  Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

I had to make these because I kept seeing them all over Pinterest as the best chocolate chip cookies.  It seemed like a challenge to me.  The secret ingredient is cornstarch which makes them extra puffy and chewy. Giant chunks of gooey Callebaut semi-sweet chocolate didn’t hurt either. Are they the best?  I almost never say that…there are just too many recipes to try.  But, I will say they are pretty darn good.  And, I like to consider myself a chocolate chip cookie connoisseur.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

10.  Lemonade Sugar Cookies

These chewy cookies taste just like a tall glass of lemonade.  They are the perfect ending to a backyard BBQ.

Lemonade Sugar Cookies

9.  Banana Bars with Cream Cheese Frosting

If you are anything like me, you always have a bunch of brown, borderline “time to throw in the garbage” looking bananas around.  Are you tired of banana bread too?  Wait until you try these.  And the frosting. Oh my gosh, don’t get me started……

Banana bars with cream cheese frosting

8.  Hot Fudge Pudding Cake

Who needs a birthday cake when you can pop this baby in the oven and about a half hour later pull out a moist chocolate cake that has made its own hot fudge sauce.   Scoop out a giant hunk and make sure to scrape all the chocolate goo from the bottom.  All you need now, is a giant scoop of good ice cream.  Hagen Daz vanilla bean please…

Hot fudge pudding cake

7.  Chocolate Dreams

Don’t you just love the  glossy, cracked coat these cookies get on the outside, just like you get on a perfect brownie?  But, it’s not just about the looks.  When you bite into the cookie, the bold chocolate flavor is almost shocking in its richness and then the gooeyness….oh my goodness!!  If you love chocolate, you have just met your ideal cookie.

Chocolate dreams

6.  Vanilla Whoopie Pies

What’s not to love?  Cake-like vanilla cookies filled with creamy marshmallow filling?  Squeeze the two cookies together so the frosting peeks out enough to roll them in sprinkles.  In this house, if there is an opportunity to use sprinkles, we take it.  These are my husband’s favorites.  He has declared me the whoopie pie queen.  In 2013, I see some new flavors in my future.

vanilla whoopie pie

5.  Cookies and Cream Popsicles

My kids went nuts for these popsicles.  We are all a bit obsessed with Oreos.  Oreos in a sweet ice cream base, frozen onto a stick?  Pretty much the perfect summer treat.

cookies and cream popsicles

4.  Hot Pretzels with Sweet Mustard and Cheese Sauce

Early this fall, a bunch of bloggers threw a baseball themed baby shower for our friend Jessica from The Jey of Cooking.  When I think of baseball food, besides hot dogs, I think of hot pretzels. And as good as these pretzels are by themselves, they are even better dipped in sweet mustard or cheddar cheese sauce.

Homemade hot pretzels with sweet mustard and cheese sauce

3.  Mini Rainbow Vanilla Bean Donuts

I made these baked vanilla bean donuts from Sprinkle Bakes a few times and they were delicious.  But then, I’m not sure what came over me because suddenly I envisioned them in rainbow.  I was probably just inspired with how amazing everything on Heather’s blog is.  While these took a bit of time, they really aren’t hard.  I love how they turned out.  While I promised to get another mini donut pan or two,  I still haven’t.  Which is probably why I haven’t made any more donuts.  Add it to the list…

Mini rainbow Vanilla Bean Donuts

2.   Cream Cheese Coffee Cake

My father in law likes coffee cake more than just about anyone I know. Since the 5 of us were using his house as a base for trick or treating, I thought it was only fair that I bring him a treat.  The cake is moist and buttery, with a cheesecake like swirl in the middle, some texture from the streusel and sweetness from the powdered sugar glaze.  I mean, really, how could you go wrong with this combination?

Cream cheese coffee cake

1.  Downtown Bakery and Creamery’s Cinnamon Donut Muffins

These muffins caught my eye while watching the Best Thing I Ever Ate.  Candace Nelson, the owner of Sprinkles, declared these cinnamon donut muffins as her favorite snack. I figured if Candace would rather snack on these than her delicious cupcakes, then must be pretty fabulous.  I couldn’t believe it when I saw that Downtown Bakery and Creamy shares the recipe on their website.  I must say, Candace has great taste.  The muffins bake up tall with a crust on the outside and they are fluffy and tender on the inside.  While they are still hot, you brush them all over with melted butter and roll them in cinnamon sugar.  Does breakfast get much better than that?

Downtown Bakery and Creamery's Cinnamon Donut Muffins

Thank you so much for reading!  The fact that there are so many amazing food blogs to read and that you have taken the time to stop by mine wows me.  I love that I have found so many delicious new recipes and conquered some of my baking fears through my blog.  I hope you have too.  I can’t wait to see what goodness 2013 brings….

Wishing you and yours the happiest of new years,

Kim, Justin, Jack, Sammie, Alex and Walter (the pug)

Just Baked Top 12 of 2012

Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. Ooooooh so much yumminess!

    Reply
  2. Every dessert you made in 2012 was drool-worthy! I can’t wait to see what you bake up in 2013!

    Reply
  3. Marilyn Watson

     /  January 1, 2013

    Love your pictures. Great photos and no calories. I need to try cream cheese coffee cake.
    Happy baking in 2013.

    Reply
  4. Sara

     /  January 2, 2013

    Thanks for narrowing it down for me. Now I know the ones to try. I am shocked there aren’t brownies on here but this is good. I’m still going to make one of the brownie recipes…eventually. ;)

    Reply
  5. Everything looks amazing! Congrats on a year of blogging-can’t wait to see what yummy treats you make this year!

    Reply
  6. Cindy

     /  January 4, 2013

    Congratulations on a year! I’m really glad I found your blog. Looking forward to another year of baking suggestions!

    Reply
  7. The cream cheese coffee cake was delicious! My family loved it! Thanks for posting it.

    Reply
  8. Beautiful pictures and I hope to see a lot more in 2013!

    Reply
  9. Julie

     /  January 12, 2013

    What? No boobie cookies????

    Reply
  10. suebthefoodie

     /  January 19, 2013

    Lovely photography!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,116 other followers

