Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

I keep seeing the same recipe for “The best chocolate chip cookie” all over Pinterest.  And well, no wonder, this chocolate chip cookie recipe has been viewed over 1.6 million times!!  Wow!  Well, I figured there must be something special about this recipe, so I had to make it and find out. Looking at the ingredient list, it includes all the usual stuff, but then there is cornstarch.  I’ve never seen cornstarch in a chocolate chip cookie recipe before.  I know you can make a cake flour substitute by adding cornstarch to flour and this must be the same idea.  The cornstarch contributes to their super soft texture and gives them their “puff”.   And, since I am in the soft chocolate chip cookie camp (crisp cookies? Yuck!), that is exactly what I am looking for.  I subbed in chocolate chunks cut from a Callebaut semisweet bar for the chocolate chips.  Without the stabilizers in the chunks, the chocolate can’t hold its shape, so it is all melty and gooey.  Have you ever tried this?  No?  You totally have to!

So, the verdict?  I have tried tons of chocolate chip recipes.  I mean, they are my absolute favorite cookies and all.  But, are they the best?  I almost never say that because there are still so many recipes still to try.  But, I will say they are pretty darn good.  Soft, thick and puffy, packed with melted chocolate chunks, still warm from the oven…. Do chocolate chip cookies get much better?  Jack and Sammie don’t think so.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

Yield: 2 dozen I got 21- though I had to throw the last 3 away because dang, I forgot about them and they burned :(

3/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
3/4 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 egg
2 tsp vanilla extract
2 cup all-purpose flour
2 tsp cornstarch
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup bittersweet chocolate chunks-  I used Callebaut semisweet cut from a bar
Preheat the oven to 350F.
In the bowl of a stand mixer with a paddle, cream together butter and both sugars until fluffy and light colored.  Blend in the egg and vanilla.
Mix together the flour, cornstarch, baking soda and salt in a small bowl.   Mix the flour mixture into the butter-sugar mixture by hand.  Stir in chocolate chunks.   The batter is very stiff.
Using a standard-sized cookie scoop or tablespoon, drop dough onto a parchment or Silpat lined baking sheet.  Bake for 8-10 minutes, until just barely golden brown around the edges.  Do not allow the cookies to brown on top, just the very edges.
Let cool, on the sheet, on a wire rack for five minutes to set.  Remove from the baking sheet and let cool completely on the wire rack, if you can wait.
Source:  Apple a Day, Originally from Anna Olson, Food Network Canada
Leave a comment

23 Comments

  1. Looks delicious! I love a good cookie and this one looks amazing.

    Reply
  2. Wow if I could just grab that out of the screen :D

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Reply
  3. I’m always on the lookout for the best chocolate chip cookie. This one sounds like a must-try! I’m totally intrigued with the addition of corn starch too.

    Reply
  4. I’m a chocolate chip cookie addict.
    These are givin me a cravingggg!

    Reply
  5. Just made these for Christmas using Andes Peppermint crunch chocolate chips…the texture is amazing! They just might be the best chocolate chip cookie!!

    Reply
  6. Penny Merritt

     /  January 16, 2013

    If they’re so wonderful, then why are the ones in the picture nearly flat? Add extra 2 Tbsp of flour if they spread too wide!

    Reply
    • I don’t think they were flat. Maybe it was the angle I took the picture at? The dough was pretty stiff, so I don’t know if it could hold more flour. If you want less spread, you can refrigerate the dough before baking.

      Reply
  7. Wilma

     /  January 19, 2013

    These cookies were delicious and chewy. I added just a pinch of bakin soda and they were perfect, chewy, and a big hit. They are now my favorite recipe too. Many thanks.

    Reply
  8. SCY

     /  January 21, 2013

    i got another good choco-chip cookie recipe at bakingathome.webs.com !! tried it and its friggin awesomeE!! she added rice-krispies into her recipe!!! my cookies turn out crispy and chewy at the same time!

    Reply
    • Thanks SCY. I’ll have to check it out. You can’t have too many chocolate chip cookie recipes as far as I’m concerned!

      Reply
  9. Lauraine Vayne

     /  January 25, 2013

    These are by far the BEST I have ever made or eaten. Thanks for sharing the recipe. I didn’t change a thing even though I live in a high altitude state…so good!!! Dangerous if you are on a diet…can’t eat justone.

    Reply
    • I’m so glad you liked them Lauraine. Yes, very dangerous. Chocolate chip cookies have always been my favorite and these are really good ones.

      Reply
  10. I know this an old post, but I have a burning question: how do you measure your flour for this recipe? I’m obsessive about it! I use weight for my own recipes, but as long as I know how the flour was measured in any given recipe, I feel success is more likely:) Thanks!

    Reply
    • I prefer to bake by weight too. It’s so much easier and I get much better results. But, unfortunately, this recipe didn’t provide them. To measure flour, I always mix the flour to loosen it up, spoon it into the measuring cup a bit past full, and level it off. I hope that helps. I made some delicious chocolate chip cookies from Dahlia’s Bakery this weekend and that recipe includes weights. I hope to post it this week. :D

      Reply
      • Thanks a ton! If you did the spoon and sweep and it obviously worked great, that’s all I need to know! Can’t wait to see the new post.

  11. Ladda

     /  March 9, 2013

    I am definately wanting to try this recipe but I love nuts in my chocolate chip cookies, perhaps pecans, how much should I add and do I need to alter anything else if I add the pecans?

    Reply
    • It is kind of just how much you would like. Really you can change the add-ins however you want- to your taste. You shouldn’t have to alter anything else…unless maybe the amount of chocolate, but only if you want.

      Reply
  12. NRS

     /  July 1, 2013

    Been wanting to try these. I notice that the recipe is different from her Back to Baking book. Have you tried that? If so, which one would you recommend? BTW, the Dahlia cookies are a big fave at my house!

    Reply
    • I haven’t. But, the Dahlia chocolate chip cookies are my current favorite. I’m glad you enjoyed them.

      Reply
  1. Session 11 « hardin1020
  2. Session 11 | English 1020

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,107 other followers

