Cake Batter Sugar Cookies

I think I was flipping through the pages of foodgawker when I came across these cake batter sugar cookies.  I love anything cake batter and you already know how I feel about sprinkles.  So, I definitely needed these in my life.  I went to make them a few days ago and as I was scanning through the ingredients, I saw butter extract listed.  Hmmm…I know I don’t have that for sure.  I figured I would just substitute in vanilla, but upon reading further into the recipe, the butter extract is what gives the cookies the cake batter flavor.  While that make sense, damn, I really wanted to make these cookies, but, not so bad that I wanted to take all three kids to the grocery store for just that one item.  So, sadly, they would have to wait.  Instead I made soft frosted sugar cookies, which were absolutely fabulous, but I still had these cookies on my mind.  Last night, my husband came home from work early and I was able to sneak out to the store after we tag teamed dinner, homework, baths, tuck-ins, goodnight kisses and dream rubs. :D  Honestly, I’ve never seen butter extract, so I was afraid it might be hard to find.  But, Dominick’s came through.  In case you are wondering, it’s right by the vanilla.

Other than the butter extract, the batter is made up of the usual sugar cookie ingredients.  The dough is pretty stiff and I found it difficult to incorporate more than 1/3 cup of the 1/2 cup of sprinkles called for in the recipe. But, this is still a lot of sprinkles, considering they are then rolled in more sprinkles.  Can one have too many sprinkles?  No, the answer is definitely no. The recipe makes only 24 mini adorable cookies which is perfect for a fun after school snack or a lunchbox treat.  The cookies are bit crisp on the outside and soft and rich tasting on the inside.  I was kind of surprised by how much these cookies actually tasted like cake batter.  My kids loved them, but that is no surprise.

Cake Batter Sugar Cookies

Yield: 24 little cookies

4 tbsp (1/4 cup) butter, softened to room temperature

1/2 cup sugar

1 large egg yolk

1/2 tsp butter extract

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

3/4 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 cup colorful sprinkles   I used a scant 1/3 cup of jimmies…the dough didn’t seem to be able to hold anymore.

1/4 cup sprinkles, for rolling    I used nonpareils

Preheat oven to 350F. Line your cookie sheet with parchment paper or a Silpat.  Set aside.

In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle, cream the butter and sugar together on medium.  Beat in the  yolk, butter extract, baking powder, and salt.  Gradually add in the flour and mix until a thick dough forms.  Fold in the jimmies, up to 1/2 cup, with a spatula.

Roll the dough into teaspoon size balls.  I found that holding the dough ball in my hand for about 5 seconds warmed the butter, making them easier to roll.  You want the ball to be more tall than wide, so the cookie will be thicker. Roll the dough balls into the reserved nonpareils.  Bake for 9-10 minutes, rotating the sheet halfway into the cooking time. Watch them closely at about 8 minutes to make sure they don’t get to brown.  The cookie should stay pretty white, with just a bit of browning on the underside.  If you find they aren’t flattening, you might have to press on them super lightly at the 6 minute mark.

Allow cookies to cool for 2 minutes on the cookie sheets, so they set, before transferring them to a cookie rack to cool completely

Source: very slightly adapted from Sally’s Baking Addiction

A few notes:

  • If you want a softer cookie, you can sub cake flour for all-purpose
  • If you find they aren’t flattening, you might have to press on them very lightly with a spatula halfway through baking.
  • I was only able to get about 1/3 cup of sprinkles into the dough or it didn’t seem like they would roll/hold together.  This was plenty.
  • According to the recipe, butter extract is the key to the cake batter flavor.  If you have to sub, the next closest thing would be almond extract.  Vanilla would still be good, it just wouldn’t taste like cake batter.
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. nope, one can never have too many sprinkles! Glad you enjoyed the cookies :)

    Reply
  2. I definitely do not own butter extract either. I love how festive all the sprinkles make these cookies look. So fun, and I’m sure they taste delicious too!

    Reply
  3. My girls love anything with sprinkles! These cookies are so fun!

    Reply
  1. SPRINKLED DESSERTS | Best Friends For Frosting

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,110 other followers

