Hot Fudge Pudding Cake

Happy birthday to me! Ugh, another year closer to 40. :D  That’s okay, because it was a good one. My husband got up early with the baby so I could sleep in a bit.  When I woke up, Justin made me my favorite ATK buttermilk pancakes and bacon.  The kids colored me birthday cards, with Sammie’s all covered in pretty Disney princess stickers.  My husband had to coach a volleyball game tonight, so we are going to celebrate tomorrow with dinner and a movie. My sisters in law are awesome and are taking the kids for the night, so we can sleep in Saturday.   So, today I spent the day with the kids and I had to get some grading done before date night.

I didn’t have a lot of time to make a layer cake or cupcakes.  So, I decided to make a cake that makes its own sauce, this hot fudge pudding cake.  It’s kind of crazy in that you make the batter, put a thick (and I mean thick) cover of cocoa powder mixed with sugar over it, and then pour boiling water over that.  But, it’s an America’s Test Kitchen recipe, so I don’t question, I just do it.  So, you put your cake covered in boiling water in the oven and bake it.  It magically transforms, as all that liquid goes to the bottom and a cratered, cake forms on top.  When you scoop out the chocolate cake, there is a thick layer of hot fudge sauce underneath.  Make sure you get all that goo, as that is the best part.  Then, of course, you must add a scoop of ice cream to the warm cake.  Mmm..ice cream and cake, with my kids, at 3 in the afternoon, completely spoiling our dinner.  Now, that’s a happy birthday!

Hot Fudge Pudding Cake

Yield: 8×8 cake

1 cup sugar, divided

1/2 cup Dutch processed cocoa powder, divided

1 cup all purpose flour

2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup milk

4 tbsp (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, melted

1 large egg yolk

2 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips

1 cup boiling water

Vanilla ice cream or whipped cream for serving

Adjust the oven rack to the middle position.  Preheat the oven to 350F. Spray an 8×8 metal or glass pan with cooking spray.  Whisk 1/2 cup of sugar with 1/4 cup of cocoa in a small bowl.

Whisk flour, remaining 1/2 cup of sugar, remaining 1/4 cup of cocoa, baking powder and salt in a large bowl.

Whisk milk, melted butter, egg yolk, and vanilla in a medium bowl until smooth.

Stir the milk mixture into the flour mixture, just until combined.  Fold in the chocolate chips. The batter will be stiff.

Using a rubber spatula, scrape batter into the prepared pan and spread into the corners. Sprinkle the reserved cocoa mixture over the top.  Gently pour the boiling water over the cocoa.  Don’t stir.

Bake until the top of the cake looks cracked, sauce is bubbling, and a toothpick inserted into a cakey area comes out with moist crumbs attached, ~ 25 minutes.  Do not overcook, or the cake will be dry and lose its fudge sauce.  So, err on the side of under.  Cool on a rack for at least 10 minutes. To serve, scoop warm cake into individual bowls and top with ice cream or whipped cream.

Store leftovers, covered in plastic, in the fridge.  Reheat individual servings in the microwave.

Source:  Cook’s Country February/March 2007

Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. Happy birthday! This looks fantastic and very rich!

    Reply
  2. Happy Birthday!!! Who needs a layered cake when you can have THIS?! I’d love it, that’s for sure!

    Reply
  3. Holy moly – that looks incredible! Happy birthday, Kim! I hope you had a fantastic, dessert-filled day! :)

    Reply
  4. Happy birthday! I would take this cake any day; a cake that makes it’s own deliciously gooey-chocolatey-fudgy sauce! Count me in.

    Reply
  5. Cash

     /  August 29, 2012

    This looks incredible! I definitely need to try this out.

    Reply
  6. HAPPY BIRTHDAY! Love the photos (which I saw on tastespotting.) Cheers.

    Reply
  7. Sounds like a great birthday, and that cake looks awesome. Love your pics!

    Reply
  8. James

     /  September 4, 2012

    I’ve made a variation of this, though the cocoa, sugar and water get mixed together instead of poured together. Also works in a crockpot or baked in an ovenproof bowl

    Reply
  9. Jessica

     /  June 24, 2013

    I made this tonight, and tried to “healthify” it with 100% whole white wheat flour, Splenda, almond milk, and Ghirardelli 60% cacao bittersweet baking chips. Wow. It was so dark and soooo delish! Talk about indulging. I even baked it in my convection oven because there’s a heatwave going on here in NY! Wonderful recipe, thanks!!! Next time i’ll try 20 min. I baked it for about 23 but think I could go less for more of that molten aspect. Loves it :)

    Reply
  1. Brownie pudding « Just Baked

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,131 other followers

