Blueberry Cream Cheese Coffeecake

I was looking on Pinterest (where else?) for a recipe to use up some blueberries and I came across this blueberry cream cheese coffee cake.  I really love anything with crumb topping and then you one up a coffee cake with cream cheese?  Now we’re talking.  The cake batter is easy enough to put together.  Then you fold in the blueberries and chunks of cream cheese to complete the batter.  The crumb topping is made by just mashing together sugar, flour and cold butter.  I have tried the two fork method and I even have a pastry blender, but I find that nothing works better than mushing it with your hands.   The cake is so pretty after it is baked with all the bright purple blueberries poking out from beneath the golden crumb topping.  When you taste it, the cake itself is moist and buttery.   Then you bite into a blueberry and it’s sweet and juicy.  Then you hit a pocket of cream cheese and it’s well, as you can imagine, creamy.  I love all the different texture and taste contrasts in this cake.  Another thing I love about coffeecake?  It is one of the few times where it is completely acceptable to eat cake and call it breakfast.  Although, that’s not to say that I haven’t eaten chocolate chip cookies in the morning and called it breakfast.  But that was only me, hiding in the kitchen, stuffing them in my mouth before my kids woke up and wanted cookies for breakfast too. :D

Blueberry Cream Cheese Coffee Cake

Yield:  an 8 x 8 cake.  I used a 9 inch round cake pan.

For the cake:

1/4 cup (4 Tbs) butter, softened

2/3 cup granulated sugar

1 egg

1/2 tsp vanilla   (my addition)

1 cup plus 2 Tablespoons all- purpose flour, DIVIDED

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup milk

1 cup fresh or frozen blueberries, washed, dried and picked over for stems    I used fresh

3 oz cold cream cheese, cut into small cubes

For the crumb topping:

4 Tablespoons flour

4 Tablespoons sugar

2 Tablespoons cold butter

Preheat oven to 375F.  Using a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment,  cream the butter and sugar on medium speed until fluffy.  Beat in the egg and vanilla (if using).  Combine 1 cup of flour, baking powder and salt in a separate bowl.  Gradually add the flour mixture to the butter mixture, alternating with the milk.  Start and end with the flour mixture.

Toss the blueberries with remaining 2 Tbs flour.  With a spatula, fold the blueberries and cream cheese cubes into the batter.  Pour the batter into a greased 8 inch baking pan.  I used a 9in round.  I wish I would have put a parchment circle on the bottom so the cake would have been easier to remove and put on my cake stand.

Prepare the crumb topping:  In a small bowl, combine flour and sugar.  Cut in butter until crumbly. Sprinkle evenly over the batter.  Bake for about 40 – 45 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Mine took about 35 minutes.

Helpful Hints:

  • If you use frozen berries, do not thaw before using or they will bleed into the cake.  It will still taste good, but it won’t look as pretty.
  • When making the crumb topping, I find just using my hands to work better than two forks or a pastry blender.

Source: Slightly adapted from Confessions of a Cookbook Queen, originally from Taste of Home magazine

Previous Post
Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. That looks soo good. I like coffee cake. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  2. Mmmm if I had pinterest I would pin this back up :D
    Yum!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Reply
  3. I like your idea of having this (and a chocolate chip cookie) for breakfast! Looks beautiful, and your photo is making me hungry for coffee cake!

    Reply
  4. OMG I think I’m in heaven, and I haven’t even made it yet.

    Reply
  5. what a combination it sound great!

    Reply
  6. Cream cheese, blueberries, and cake batter are three of my favorite words. Sounds amazing! Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  7. Dee

     /  August 9, 2012

    Yum! Wish I could have it now with coffee. Do you think I could use whole wheat pastry flour?

    Reply
    • Thanks. I just found out that you can sub this 1:1 because this recipe doesn’t have yeast. If you try it, let me know how it turns out. :D

      Reply
  8. My little man has always been into sweets and is recently addicted to blueberries. This sounds like a wonderful treat to make for the whole family to enjoy!

    Reply
  9. Kathy Donis

     /  August 15, 2012

    I have made about 10 of your recipes and they all have been a GRAND SLAM HOME RUN!!!! Because of you I pulled my KitchenAid mixmaster out of the basement and blew the dust off!!!! You are my favorite site!
    Kathy/Arlington Heights

    Reply
  10. Sherry in Union, KY

     /  November 8, 2012

    My husband made this last night and it turned out to be quite good. He used Neufchâtel rather than regular cream cheese. Yum! Thanks for the recipe!

    Reply
  1. Bright Blueberry Sweets to Liven Up Your Day | Yummly

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,119 other followers

