Low-Fat Chocolate Pudding

If a recipe says low-fat in the title, I hate to admit that I immediately dissmiss it.  To me desserts are full-fat or they just aren’t worth it.  But, it is usually because I don’t like the taste and texture of the low-fat products they contain like cream cheese or sour cream.  But, when I looked at this recipe for low-fat chocolate pudding, it contained all the usual ingredients I cook with but still has half the fat and calories.  Say what?  I had to try it and see how it compares to traditional homemade chocolate pudding.

Who knew that homemade pudding doesn’t take much more time than Jello pudding in a box?  And, you won’t believe how much better it tastes…even this low-fat version.  When I made the pudding, I just started getting a terrible cold, so unfortunately I wasn’t able to taste it too well.  But, I can still guarantee that this pudding tastes fantastic.  How?  Well Jack and Sammie both tore through their bowls in record time and asked for more.  They were sad when I told them that it was gone.  When I turned to them after feeding baby Alex some pudding, I saw that they both licked their bowls clean enough to put back in the cabinets.  I’ve never seen them do that before! So, I think I can safely say this is some tasty pudding.  You definitely will not miss the extra fat and calories.

Low-Fat Chocolate Pudding

Yield: 4 servings

2 oz bittersweet chocolate, chopped

2 Tablespoons cocoa, preferably dutch processed

2 1/2 tablespoons cornstarch

1/2 cup sugar

1/8 teaspoon of salt

2 1/2 cups whole milk

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Melt chocolate over double boiler or in the microwave (I recommend).  Cool slightly.

Whisk together the cocoa powder, cornstarch, sugar and salt in a heavy bottomed medium saucepan.  Add milk all at once and whisk to incorporate.  Whisk in melted chocolate.

Bring the mixture to a boil over medium heat, whisking until smooth.  Once boiling, reduce the heat to low and cook, stirring constantly with a heatproof spatula or wooden spoon, making sure to scrape the edges of the pan, for 2 minutes.  The mixture will become thick and glossy.

Remove the pan from heat and stir in vanilla.  Pour pudding through a fine-mesh strainer and into a heatproof bowl, pushing gently with a spatula or spoon.  Leave any solids in the strainer.

Place a piece of plastic wrap directly on the surface of the pudding to prevent a yucky skin from forming.  Refrigerate for 4 hours or until completely chilled.  (Pudding will keep up to 2 days). Gently stir before transferring into individual bowls for serving.

Source:  Cook’s Country Charter Issue 2005

Nutritional Information from Cook’s Country:

Cook’s Country

Traditional

Calories

286

581

Fat

13g

34g

Cholesterol

21mg

202mg

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Low fat but tastes a charm, this looks incredible :D

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Reply
  2. My problem is with low fat products i think i can eat twice as much! oops. This looks fab! :)

    Reply
  3. cookingactress

     /  July 25, 2012

    Yum! I love a recipe like this :)

    Reply
  4. This definitely does not look low fat! Beautiful photo, as always!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,115 other followers

