Cream Cheese Pound Cake

If I had to pin down a recipe that I am known for, my signature recipe, it would have be one-step pound cake.  And, before me, it was my mom’s signature recipe.  I just kind of took it over. :D  Mostly, because my husband’s family is so crazy about it.  I just love the ease of dumping everything into the bowl, mixing and baking a delicious pound cake.  So, why even mess with it as my husband would say?  Well, because I am always on the lookout for something better.  There is only one recipe that I love so much that I can’t see making any other way, and that is the Baked brownie  (please excuse the picture, it was one of my 1st posts :D).  Sure, I’ll make different flavor brownie recipes but as for a plain brownie, the search is over. Perfection I tell you.  Mmmm. Sorry, I digress.  Back to poundcake.

I had a giant stack of Cook’s Country magazines and I decided to go through them and write down what I would like to make in each one.  Man, that is a lot of recipes.  A bit overwhelming, but I decided to dive in right away with this cream cheese pound cake.  Because it is one of my favorite desserts, I have eaten more than my share of pound cake.  But I don’t think I have have ever had one with cream cheese.  While this recipe certainly isn’t one bowl, three bowls actually, it is worth the extra effort.  And really, it isn’t that much extra work, just more dishes.  In the end, you get a buttery, velvet textured pound cake with a tight crumb and a pleasant tang from the cream cheese.  To me, the flavor is very reminiscent of cheesecake.  Pound cake that tastes like cheesecake?  That can only be a good thing.  In fact, it was so good that Sammie had to create a new high to our rating scale.  Instead of a sky high thumbs up, it got all ten fingers sky high.  Now that my friends, is a good pound cake.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake

Yield: 1 bundt cake

3 Cups (12 oz) cake flour
1 Teaspoon salt
4 large eggs plus 2 large yolks, room temperature
1/4 Cup milk
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
3 Cups (21 oz) sugar
3 sticks unsalted butter , softened
6 oz cream cheese, softened

Adjust the oven rack to middle position and preheat your oven to 300F.  Grease and flour a 12 cup bundt pan.  Combine flour and salt in a bowl.  Whisk eggs, yolks, milk and vanilla in a 2 cup liquid measuring cup.

Using a stand mixer fitted with a paddle, beat sugar, butter, and cream cheese on medium high until pale and fluffy, about 3 minutes.  Reduce the speed to low and very slowly add the egg mixture until incorporated (batter may look a bit curdled).  Add flour mixture in 3 additions, scraping down the bowl as needed.  Give the batter a final stir by hand.

Scrape the batter into the prepared pan and gently tap it on the counter to release any air bubbles.  Bake until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, about 80 to 90 minutes.  Rotate the pan halfway in the baking time.  Cool the pan on a wire rack for 15 minutes only.  Longer than 15 minutes, and it may be hard to remove from the pan.  Remove the cake from the pan and let cool completely, about 2 hours.  The cake can be wrapped with plastic and held at room temperature for 3 days.

I like to serve with sweetened strawberries and whipped cream.

Source:  Cook’s Country April/May 2012

Leave a comment

24 Comments

  1. What a beautifully presented pound cake my friend – delicious!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Reply
  2. Gorgeous photo! I’m with you on the pound cake that tastes like cheesecake – who can resist that?

    Reply
  3. Great photo, poundcake is definitely a favorite!

    Reply
  4. Wow this looks AWESOME! It makes me want to go buy a pound cake pan :O Also dropping in to let you know I’ve nominated you for the Versatile Blogger award! You can read all about it in my post! :D

    Reply
  5. Your cake looks delicious!!! Love pound cake!

    Reply
  6. Sounds like really easy pound cake and those strawberries make it look especially cute :)

    Reply
  7. Yum…. look delicious… i will give it try too…

    Reply
  8. Oooo this looks super. Great presentation! Will have to give it a go!!

    Reply
  9. Beautiful photo and I’m sure is delicious!

    Reply
  10. Hi
    I really love your blog and recipes :) thats why I wanted you to know I nominated you for the One lovely Blog and Versatile Blogger award! For further info please check my post : http://foodingrookie.wordpress.com/2012/07/23/one-lovely-blog-and-versatile-blogger-awards/ where I link you back :)
    Well deserved!
    Cheers!
    Sara

    Reply
  11. This cream cheese pound cake looks AMAZING! :)

    Reply
  12. Juliette

     /  June 19, 2013

    Would this turn out good if I put them in cupcake papers?

    Reply
    • I’ve never tried it, so I’m not sure about baking times. The layering would be hard to do though. The batter is pretty sticky and not so easy to spread.

      Reply
  13. ADMM

     /  February 10, 2014

    I saw this episode on Cooks Country this weekend and neglected to write down the oven temp. When I did a search, your blog came up with all the info. Thanks so much for posting everything! I made the cake yesterday and folks it is a very good cake! Thanks again

    Reply
  14. Amanda Matzke

     /  March 5, 2014

    Saw this on cook’s country (my favorite show!) and have really been wanting to try it, but I couldn’t decide between this recipe and a recipe for Starbucks lemon loaf. So I went with the pound cake and substituted the milk for 1/3 c fresh squeezed lemon juice and lemon zest. It is FANTASTIC. Definitely a keeper a WILL do again! (Also added a glaze of confectioners sugar, whipping cream, lemon juice and lemon zest… it was great before the glaze, but this is made it even better.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,127 other followers

