Cappuccino Popsicles

Well, I figured I should at least finish out the week with one last popsicle.  We ate all the cookies and cream pops, I made the root beer float pops at my mom’s, so we were out of popsicles and I needed to remedy this situation.  I never even knew I liked popsicles so much.  Well, maybe because the ones I grew up on were those double stick pops in banana, plain root beer, or blue raspberry.  And while those were good when I was a kid, they aren’t so much now.  Not with popsicles like these anyways.

I decided to make cappuccino pops for my husband and I.  With 3 kids and work and all the stuff that goes with them, we can always use the extra caffeine.  We keep lots of K-cups in the house because when we need coffee, we need it now! :D  So, I brewed 2 Black Magic K-cups on the 8 oz setting to get the volume of coffee needed for this recipe.   You then add some whole milk to the coffee and sweeten it with superfine sugar.  The coffee mixture is then poured into the molds.  But, wait a second. What’s cappuccino without the froth?  So, you whip up and sweeten some whipped cream to top each pop before freezing.  What you end up with is the perfect frozen pick-me-up.  I don’t know about you, but I could always use one.

Cappuccino popsicles

Yield:  6-8 pops

1 3/4 cups (14 fl oz/430mL) strongly brewed coffee  I used Green Mountain Black Magic- I brewed 2 K-cups on the 8oz setting and I had a bit left over

1/3 cup (3 fl oz/80mL) whole milk

1/4 cup (2 oz/60 g) superfine sugar

1/4 cup (2 fl oz/60mL) heavy cream

1 tsp confectioners’ sugar

In a 4 cup measure with a pour spout, combine the coffee, milk, and superfine sugar.  Stir until the sugar has completely dissolved.  Set aside.  In a bowl, combine the cream and confectioners’ sugar.  Using a whisk, beat until the cream forms soft peaks.  It takes awhile by hand. Set aside.

If using conventional ice pop molds, divide the coffee mixture among the molds, then spoon a dollop of the whipped cream into each mold.  Cover and freeze until solid, at least 4 hours or up to 3 days.  If using sticks, insert them into the molds when the pops are partially frozen, after about 1 hour, then freeze until solid, at least 3 more hours.

If using an instant pop maker (Zoku) follow the manufacturers’ instructions, layering in the same way.

For mocha pops:  Whisk 2 Tbsp sweetened hot cocoa mix into the coffee mixture when adding the sugar.

You can dust the top with cinnamon or nutmeg if you would like.

Source:  Ice Pops:  Recipes for Fresh and Flavorful Frozen Treats

Note:  I have found the “froth” to taste the best the day the pops are made.

Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. Popsicle fever ends with a bang my friend :D
    These look wonderful :)

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Reply
  2. You’re killing me with all of these awesome looking popsicles, Kim! I need to find my way to your house, stat. :D

    Reply
  3. Lisa

     /  July 13, 2012

    Amazingly delicious!

    Reply
  4. These popsicles look so so good!!

    Reply
  5. Wow! Cappuccino on a stick! Haha. This is delightfully awesome!

    Reply
  6. Just saw this at tastespotting…
    Love it!!

    Reply
  7. The bars look great. I wouldn’t even share with my kids…actually giving them some may be a bad idea. MORE FOR ME

    Reply
  1. 16 Crazy Cool Popsicle Recipes | Pippa Quilts
  2. Cappuccino Popsicles
  3. Re. | west fifty-eighth
  4. Cappuccino Ice Pops | Centre Street
  5. 149 Cool Treats to Help Beat the Summer Heat - Frugal Mom Eh!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,115 other followers

