Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

I had some oatmeal leftover from the oatmeal cream pies I made a few weeks ago that I wanted to use up.  I came across these chocolate oatmeal cookies in an old issue of Cook’s Country and thought they would be perfect.  But, I saw that they needed 1 3/4 cups of oats and looking in the jar, I knew it would be really close.  Do you believe I had exactly enough?  I am never this lucky, so these cookies were meant to be.  This was an interesting recipe to me for 2 reasons.  The first is that part of the oatmeal is ground finely in the food processor and the rest is put into the dough whole.  The other thing is that melted milk chocolate is added to the dough, which is a bit unusual for oatmeal cookies.  But, I guess these are supposed to be similar to the urban legend Neiman Marcus $250 cookies.  You know the one where the lady asked for the recipe, was told it would be $250, but she thought it was $2.50.   She was crazy mad, so to get Neiman Marcus back, she gave the recipe out to everyone she knew.  Neiman Marcus denies this. But, it’s a fun story anyways.

These cookies have a nice crispness to the outside and a very chewy inside thanks to the oatmeal.  The melted milk chocolate gives them an extra punch of chocolate along with the chocolate chips.   These are a nice change from the usual chocolate chip cookie.  And dare I say healthy?  Come on, they do have oatmeal! :D

Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

Yield: 2 dozen

1 3/4 cups old-fashioned oats (not quick cooking or instant)   Divided
1 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
10 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened but still cool
1 cup packed light brown sugar
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3 ounces milk chocolate, melted and cooled   I used Callebaut
1 cup pecans or walnuts, chopped   I omitted
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Adjust racks to upper and lower middle positions.  Preheat oven to 350° F.  Line 2 sheets with parchment.

In a food processor, process 1 cup oats until well ground, about 30 seconds. Transfer to a large mixing bowl and stir in the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

Beat the butter and light brown sugar in the bowl of an electric mixer, on medium-high speed until thoroughly combined and no lumps, about 1 minute.  Scrape down the sides of the bowl and add the egg and vanilla. Beat until light and fluffy, about 30 seconds. Add the melted, but cooled, milk chocolate and beat until incorporated, 20 seconds.  On low speed, stir in the flour mixture just until combined, 15 seconds. Add the remaining 3/4 cup old-fashioned oats, the chopped nuts (if using) and the chocolate chips and beat on low until everything is evenly distributed, 1o seconds.

Roll dough into 2 tablespoon sized balls (I used a cookie scoop) and place 2 inches apart on the prepared cookie sheets.

Bake the cookies, rotating and switching position of the pans halfway through the baking time, until the tops are cracked (and set), but the cookies still appear moist in between the cracks, ~ 14 to 18 minutes.  Do not over bake.  Take them out a bit underdone or they will be crisp.  Cool cookies on baking sheets on wire racks for 5 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.  These will store at room temperature up to 5 days in an airtight container.

Source:  Cook’s Country June/July 2006

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. One of my favourite chocolate chip cookie recipes ever :D

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Reply
  2. This is truly a delicious classic and a nice reminder that I need to make some for the cookie jar! Glad that it was in the cards that you had just enough oats to make these, that rarely happens in my case.
    I would love to have a few of these with milk right now-yum!

    Reply
  3. These look amazing!

    Reply
  4. I love cookies with oatmeal, and I used to make those Neiman Marcus cookies all the time. This looks so much easier though, and I can’t wait to try it out soon!

    Reply
  5. I love cookies. Of any kind. These look SO good. I haven’t made chocolate chip cookies in SO long. I’m WAY overdue

    Reply
  6. sally

     /  October 31, 2012

    you never stated for how long do you bake the cookies

    Reply
  7. Jane MacQueen

     /  May 10, 2013

    I tried making these but the melted chocolate turned the all of the dough brown color. I tried to cool my melted chocolate in the fridge, maybe I didn’t wait long enough. I was worried it would harden, so it was a little warm. They were still delicious but I would like to make some that look like the cookies in your picture! Any suggestions?

    Reply
    • I’m not sure what happened. The melted chocolate will turn the dough a little brown,but it is milk chocolate and it is only 3 ounces, so it shouldn’t turn really brown. Did you use milk chocolate? I don’t think the temperature of the chocolate would have to much effect on the color.

      Reply
      • Jane MacQueen

         /  May 10, 2013

        You know what? I didn’t use milk chocolate. My husband ate the milk chocolate bar so I found some leftover bittersweet cocoa bar. Ha! That must be it! I’ll try again and make sure I have milk chocolate. Thanks!

      • I think that will solve the color problem because milk chocolate is so much lighter. At least they tasted good :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,130 other followers

