Double Chocolate and Mint Cookies

Okay, so I am not the only one in my family addicted to the Food Network.  Believe it or not, my 5 year old daughter, Sammie, is in love with Giada, AKA the Cooking Lady.  You know your daughter watches too much Giada at Home when she says spaghetti with an Italian accent, she pretends she is cooking using ingredients like extra virgin olive oil and lemon zest and finally when she asks “Can you live without olive oil”?  Apparently, the Cooking Lady says you can’t. :D  Oh, how I love my little girl.

The other day we were watching Giada and she made these delicious looking double chocolate and mint cookies.  Sammie has always loved Andes mints.  In fact, it is her favorite part of a meal at Olive Garden.  Even better than the bread sticks?  Umm, no, I don’t think so.  These cookies reminded me of a mint version of the Chocolate Dreams I made a few weeks ago.  The cookie is super soft and fudgy, almost brownie-like in texture.   First you taste the rich chocolate of the cookie and then you bite into a warm, melted Andes mint…Mmmm.  I think the Cooking Lady maybe on to something. :D

Double Chocolate and Mint Cookies

Yield: 12 cookies

6 ounces semisweet or bittersweet (60-percent) chocolate chopped  I used Callebaut semi-sweet

2 tablespoons unsalted butter

1 cup flour

2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa   I used Valrhone dutch processed cocoa

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

2/3 cup sugar

2 eggs, at room temperature

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

One 5-ounce package chocolate mint thins, such as Andes, each cut into thirds  Or you can buy the Andes chips to make it easier on yourself.  I couldn’t find any at the store.  I think they are more seasonal.

Place 1 oven rack in the center of the oven and 1 oven rack in the bottom third and preheat the oven to 300 degrees F. Line 2 large rimmed baking sheets with parchment paper. Set aside.

In a small bowl, combine the bittersweet chocolate and butter. Place the bowl over a pan of barely simmering water and stir occasionally until the chocolate has melted and the mixture is smooth.  As usual, I just melted the chocolate and butter carefully in the microwave.  Just make sure to stop before the chocolate is completely melted and use the residual heat to finish the job.  Or else the chocolate may burn and taste bitter.

In a medium bowl, sift the flour, cocoa, baking powder and salt. In a large bowl, whisk together the sugar, eggs, 2 tablespoons water and vanilla extract. Gradually add the dry ingredients. Fold in the cooled chocolate. Stir in the chocolate mint pieces. Chill the dough 10 minutes to firm slightly. Using 1/4 cup measuring cup, drop 6 mounds of batter onto each prepared sheet, spacing evenly apart.

Bake the cookies 9 minutes. Reverse the baking sheets (top to bottom) and continue baking until the cookies are slightly puffed and dry looking with some small cracks on top, 9 to 10 minutes longer. Cool the cookies completely on sheets (they may deflate slightly as they cool).

Source:  Food Network, Giada De Laurentiis


Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. These are heaven sent after dinner (huge) mints :D

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Reply
  2. Mint and chocolate is my all-time favorite flavor combination. And I love Andes mints! These cookies are definitely going on my to-bake list!

    Reply
  3. I’m with Eva! My all time favorite cookie!!!

    Reply
  4. Sara

     /  May 25, 2012

    This looks AWESOME. I’d love to try these one day…with you making them and me eating them. LOL! ;)

    Reply
    • When are you back in town? Let me know and I will make you some. Another PHS get together is way overdue :D

      Reply
  5. These look so rich and chewy and I do love Andes mints! I am lucky to be the only one in the house that likes the chocolate mint combo, so that means more for me. Great recipe!
    Enjoy the weekend.

    Reply
    • Thanks Tina. I usually am not big on mint either except for 2 things: Andes mints and mint chocolate chip ice cream (Baskin Robbins only :D). I think I just really enjoy a mild mint paired with chocolate, and these totally fit the bill. Delicious.

      Reply
  6. These cookies look fabulous!

    Reply
  7. I love chocolate and mint so these sound right up my alley!! Now, to pick a day to ignore my pledge to eat healthy and loose some weight! =]

    Reply
  8. Two of my favorites; chocolate and mint. This cookie is the perfect way to enjoy this delicious combination. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,116 other followers

