Chocolate Chip Cookies Straight Up

I am so addicted to the Food Network.   One of my current favorite shows is The Best Thing I Ever Made.  I love that after watching the show, you can turn around and make your favorite Food Network star’s best dish at home.  The other day I was watching the show on Sweet Endings (perfect for me right?) and Elizabeth Falkner, of Citizen Cake Fame, chose her best to be her chocolate chip cookies.  I was intrigued.  Elizabeth has been on Top Chef Masters, she was runner up in the Next Iron Chef, she is a highly regarded pastry chef and the best thing she ever made was a chocolate chip cookie?  Well, these must be some cookies!  So, of course, I had to make them immediately.  The cookies have a higher brown sugar to sugar ratio for chewiness and use dark brown sugar to amp up the butterscotch flavor.  There is a pinch of baking powder to puff them up a touch and chopped chocolate instead of chips to provide maximum melted chocolate gooeyness.   The taste and texture of these cookies reminds me of the brown sugar cookies I made awhile back, but even better with the addition of chocolate chunks.  The taste is much more complex, gourmet if you will, than your average chocolate chip cookie.  Well done, Ms. Falkner, well done. :D

Chocolate Chip Cookies Straight Up

Yield: 3 dozen, but I only got 2 dozen

8 tablespoons (4 ounces) butter, softened but still cool   like Play-Doh

3/4 cup (6 1/4 ounces) firmly packed dark brown sugar

1/2 cup plus 1 tablespoon (4 ounces) granulated sugar

1 large egg (1 1/2 ounces by weight)

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1 teaspoon kosher salt

1 1/4 cups plus 3 tablespoons (7 ounces) all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

8 ounces bittersweet chocolate, chopped the size of chocolate chips, or bittersweet chocolate chips (about 1 1/2 cups)  I used Callebaut Semi-Sweet.

3/4 cup (3 ounces) chopped walnuts, optional  I omitted

In a large bowl, with a wooden spoon, cream together the butter, brown sugar and granulated sugar until smooth, but not over mixed. (Or use a stand mixer with a paddle or a handheld mixer, beating on medium speed for 1 to 2 minutes, scraping down the sides of the bowl before continuing.)  Add the egg, vanilla and salt.  Stir just until combined.

Sift in the flour, baking soda and baking powder.  Stir gently just until combined. Add the chocolate and nuts (if using).  Stir just until evenly distributed throughout the dough. Cover and refrigerate for 30 minutes. (On the show she says 24 to 48 hours, but I was impatient and did 12 hours.)  Note:  This dough is drier than most chocolate chip cookie doughs I have worked with.

Position the racks in the upper third and lower third of the oven and preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper.

Scoop up 1-inch balls of the dough with a spoon or mini scoop and set them 2 inches apart on the prepared pans. Bake the cookies, rotating the pans after 7 to 9 minutes, for 13 to 17 minutes until the cookies are golden brown. If you like a very soft cookie, bake them for 13 minutes.  If you like a crisp cookie, bake them for 17 minutes. Transfer to racks and let cool.

Storage:  Best the day they are baked, but you can store them in an airtight container for up to 4 days.

Source:  Food Network- Elizabeth Falkner of Citizen Cake

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. I can understand why this recipe would be amongst the best ever eaten – I can imagine how it melts in the mouth… Oh wow… :D

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Reply
  2. Oh my gosh, I have been on a serious chocolate kick. These chocolate chip cookies look and sound AMAZING! I saw that episode of The Best Thing I Ever Made; I too am a fan of that show! These cookies intrigued me too, after reading your review I must make these. Twist my arm!

    Reply
  3. I love a good chocolate chip cookie. Elizabeth Falkner is awesome, and I bet her cookies are too!

    Reply
    • I love Elizabeth Falkner too! I was so disappointed when she didn’t win Top Chef. They were really good! My usually chocolate hating husband liked them so much, he stole the rest and took them to work. I went to have one, or two or three for breakfast (please don’t judge ;D) and I was sad to see they were gone. Oh, well. I guess I will just have to make more!

      Reply
  4. Those have got to be the best-looking chocolate chip cookies I’ve ever seen. Knowing they taste as good as they look…it’s almost scary exciting :)

    Reply
  5. SassyDonna

     /  May 24, 2012

    I have looked all over for this recipe, even contact the food network for the info! Thank soo much! I’m excite to get at it.

    Reply
    • I saw the show and I just had to make them immediately. They were so delicious!! Let me know when you give them a try!

      Reply
  6. Shannon McCarthy

     /  July 20, 2012

    Kudos to Ms. Falkner…My husband found this recipe here and is insisting I make them this weekend =) Thanks for sharing. Once I finish up with my “real job” of baking cakes, I’ll give this a shot. We both enjoy Just Baked by ME – keep it up.
    - Shannon @ Crumb Cake Creations

    Reply
  7. Ann

     /  November 17, 2012

    I live in Australia and saw a profile on Elizabeth Falkner on our pbs network this afternoon. I was intrigued enough to Google her and found this recipe! It is 10 p.m. Sat night (pretty tragic heh?) and I have just put the dough in the fridge for its overnight stay! Can’t wait to bake them tomorrow afternoon. Lucky I had the choc hidden away in the pantry!!

    Reply
  8. Karen

     /  March 15, 2013

    I have tried this recipe twice, once with the cup measurements and once by weight. Both times, my dough resembles nothing of dough. It’s a bunch of crumbles and stay together by me packing them alternatively with both my hands. My cookies always come out in different shapes (flat and crispy, round but slightly puffy, and small, round, pellets). Do you have any idea what I have done wrong? I am considering adding an extra egg next time because it is entirely too crumbly. I don’t know what to do with the inconsistency in shapes.

    Reply
    • Hmmm. I’m not sure. I did my measurements by weight too. And while I thought the dough was stiff, I didn’t have trouble getting it to stick together. I used a cookie scoop and my cookies were round and uniform. A whole extra egg might be too much, maybe just an extra yolk?

      Reply
  9. yatiz81

     /  June 24, 2014

    Thanks for posting this amazing recipe! My hubby and kiddos are addicted. Had to make it again this weekend.. :D

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,129 other followers

