Chocolate Dreams

When I got the Back in the Day Bakery Cookbook in the mail, I tore through it immediately and I honestly wanted to make every recipe in the book.  I love retro, old-style baking, and as the name of the bakery implies, this one fits the bill.  I first made the lemon pie bars and they were super delicious.  So, I decided to make the next recipe that caught my eye, Chocolate Dreams.  If the name doesn’t convince you to make these cookies, their description certainly will. ” True chocolate lovers, meet your ideal cookie!  This cookie has as much pure chocolate as we could possibly pack into one.  It has a brownie-like exterior and intense gooey goodness inside.”  How can one read that and say, no, that cookie doesn’t sound good.  Well, okay, besides my husband.. . :D  The resulting cookie was true to their word.  I love the glossy coat the cookies get on the outside, just like you get on a perfect brownie.  Then when you bite into it, the bold chocolate flavor is almost shocking in its richness and then the gooeyness….oh my goodness!!  This is one fabulous cookie.  I only made half a batch (what was I thinking?) and I was sad because they were gone far too quickly.  But, it’s for the best, because I don’t think I would have been able to part with any of these cookies.  And, if I keep them, I eat them, all of them!

Chocolate Dreams

Yield: 24 cookies

1 cup unbleached all purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder,  preferably aluminum free

1/8 tsp fine sea salt

4 large eggs, at room temp

1 1/2 cups packed light brown sugar

2 tsp pure vanilla extract

1 tsp espresso powder or finely ground coffee

1 pound bittersweet chocolate, chopped   I used Callebaut

8 Tbsp (1 stick) unsalted butter

1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Position racks in the upper and lower thirds of the oven and preheat it to 350F.  Line 2 cookie sheets with parchment.

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder and salt.  Set aside.

In a small bowl, whisk the eggs, brown sugar, vanilla, and espresso together thoroughly.  Set aside.

Put the bittersweet chocolate and the butter in a large heatproof bowl.  Set the bowl over a saucepan of barely simmering water (do not let bottom touch the water) and heat.  Stir frequently until melted and smooth.  ( I put the cut butter and chopped chocolate in a bowl and microwaved them carefully until almost all melted, then let the residual heat melt the rest of the chocolate.)  Remove from heat and set aside until warm, not hot.

Add the egg mixture to the cooled chocolate mixture, stirring until combined.  Stir in the flour mixture.  Then, fold in the chocolate chips.

Use a small ice cream scoop to form the cookies, about 1 rounded tablespoon each, and place on the prepared cookie sheets.  Leave about 2 inches between the cookies to allow for spreading.  Bake for 10 to 12 minutes, rotating the pans halfway through the baking time to ensure even doneness.  The surface of the cookies should look dry and set, but the centers should still be gooey.  Let the cookies cool on a wire rack.  Store the cookies in an airtight container for up until 3 days at room temperature.

SourceThe Back in the Day Bakery Cookbook

Leave a comment

20 Comments

  1. These certainly are every aspiring chocoholics dream cookie – how decadent :D

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Reply
  2. Really like chocolate dreams! :) The name’s convinced me from the get-go.

    Reply
  3. The picture tells me all I need to know-truly a fudge chocolatey cookie. A that is something that we all would enjoy, yum! I am liking these retro recipes, there is probably a lot of delicious things I long since forgot about. Keep them coming!

    Reply
  4. Yum. That’s all I can say. :-)

    Reply
  5. These look amazing! Now I’m craving chocolate… thanks a lot! :D

    Reply
  6. Those look too yummy.

    I’ve nominated you for the Kreativ Blogger and Sunshine Awards. See them here: http://treatstrinkets.blogspot.com/2012/04/birthday-cake-cupcakes.html

    Reply
  7. Oh my goodness, these caught my eye and they look so good. It’s probably good you only made a few, they seem incredibly morish!

    Reply
  8. gadgetsmom

     /  May 4, 2012

    In the process of making these cookies. I’m making a half recipe and the mixture seems as loose as a brownie batter. 1/2 cup flour to 2 large eggs … is it supposed to be this loose? Thanks – CBS

    Reply
    • I double checked the original recipe to be sure. Yep, 1/2 cup of flour to 2 eggs for half a recipe. I do remember the batter being on the looser side, but it did thicken upon standing for the next batches. The cookie is reminiscent of a brownie cookie, just a bit more gooey and richer in chocolate flavor. Please let me know how they turn out!

      Reply
      • gadgetsmom

         /  May 4, 2012

        Came out perfect!! You are right, the dough did firm up a bit upon sitting. I used my smallest scoop which measures exactly 1 tablespoon, and got THIRTY-SEVEN cookies for a half recipe. They baked for 11 minutes. The smaller size will work for me, because I’ll eat the same number of cookies no matter how big they are ;-) and now I have plenty to share with friends.

        FYI – Here’s a trick I learned from a pastry chef that teaches at the college I work for … When melting chocolate, boil the water but take it off the heat before you put your bowl of chopped chocolate on top. The water will melt the chocolate but not make it too warm to work with immediately. Also this lessens the chance of steam/moisture getting into the chocolate and causing it to seize.

        Thanks for your very prompt assistance!!

  9. Yay! I’m so glad gadgetsmom!! They are very rich! So a bit smaller is a good idea. And if they aren’t too rich for you, you can just eat more cookies :D Problem solved. I never thought of that. Great tip. Thanks! I melt a whole lot of chocolate, so I’ll have to try that next time! And, no problem!

    Reply
  10. These look absolutely amazing. Chocolatey. Fudgy. Ooey gooey perfection. The name alone is the only description I need. I must try these soon. Wonderful job, Kim!

    Reply
  11. I have this cookbook and have always wanted to make them – you’ve convinced me I need to! They’re gorgeous!

    Reply
    • Thanks Averie. I love the Back in the Day Cookbook. Everything I have made has been delicious and I still have half of the book flagged! :D These are so rich and chocolatey and just plain delicious!

      Reply
  12. Hola! I’ve been following your web site for a long time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Austin Tx! Just wanted to say keep up the fantastic work!

    Reply
  13. Rachel

     /  August 7, 2014

    Hello! I’m not sure if this blog is still active, but I have a quick question about these cookies. I just made them, and while they’re delicious, mine did not spread out like yours. They also don’t have the brownie-like texture that yours seem to have on the outside – do you have any idea what I might’ve done wrong? Thanks!

    Reply
    • I’m not sure? Maybe too much flour? A cup of flour can vary a lot depending on your method of measure. I stir up the flour, spoon it into the measuring cup and then level off. Honestly, I prefer recipes with ingredients by weight for this very reason. But, unfortunately, many recipes don’t have them.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,115 other followers

