Cookies and Cream Whoopie Pies

I have kind of been on whoopie pie kick lately.  The soft cake and the creamy filling put together in a cute little sandwich…I just love them.  I recently made the Flour Bakery Homemade Oreos and it got me thinking… How about combining a whoopie pie and an Oreo?  I mean, since they are both delicious, the combination has to be doubly delicious.  Can you imagine?  I flipped through Whoopie Pies and can you believe there wasn’t a recipe for a cookies and cream whoopie pie?  So, I decided to just make the chocolate cakes from the book and my favorite filling from Martha Stewart, adding crushed Oreos to the filling.  Voila, cookies and cream whoopie pies!  Okay, so maybe this was an obvious choice and not quite the brilliant idea I thought it was.  But, after two failed recipes this morning (so frustrating!), I was so happy come up with these.  And, I can now verify that the combination of the two IS doubly delicious.  In fact, it was so yummy, I decided it needed to be displayed on a pedestal. :D

My husband says the background of this picture reminds him of Willy Wonka’s lickable wallpaper.  Snozzberry anyone?  Winking smile

Chocolate Whoopie Pies with Cookies and Cream Marshmallow Filling

Yield: 48  2-inch cakes (24 sandwiches)

1 ⅔ cups all-purpose flour
⅔ cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1½ teaspoons baking soda
½ teaspoon salt
4 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature
4 tablespoons vegetable shortening   Use the sticks if you can, so much easier to measure!
1 cup (packed) dark brown sugar
1 large egg
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 cup milk

Position a rack in the center of the oven and preheat to 375°. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.

Sift together the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt onto a sheet of wax paper. Set aside

In the work bowl of a stand mixer with the paddle, beat together the butter, shortening and brown sugar on low speed until just combined.  Increase the speed to medium and beat until fluffy and smooth, about 3 minutes. Add the egg and vanilla and beat for another 2 minutes.

Add half of the flour mixture and half of the milk to the batter and beat on low until just incorporated. Scrape down the sides of the bowl. Add the remaining flour mixture and the remaining half of the milk and beat until completely combined.

Using a spoon, drop about 1 tablespoon of batter onto one of the prepared baking sheets; repeat, spacing the rounds at least 2 inches apart. A melon baller makes the perfect sized and shaped 2 inch whoopie.  I got 16 cakes/sheet. Bake one sheet at a time for about 10 minutes each or until the rounds spring back when pressed gently.  I did a toothpick check. Remove from the oven and let the cakes cool in the pan for 5 minutes before transferring them to a rack to cool completely.  Match them up by size and pipe the filling onto the bottom cookie of each pair. Sandwich them together and enjoy!

Cookies and Cream Marshmallow Filling

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature

2 cups sifted confectioners’ sugar

1 jar (7 1/2 ounces) marshmallow Fluff

2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

Oreos- I used 12, but you can use more or less depending on your taste.  Smash them pretty good or it will be hard to pipe (jam up the bag) and you won’t get perfect frosting edges- note this on mine.  Embarrased smile  Now I know for next time…

In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream together butter and sugar until pale and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add Fluff and vanilla and continue mixing until well combined. Smash up the Oreos into small pieces and fold in with a spatula.

I put the filling into a large Ziploc bag, and cut off the corner, so I could easily pipe the filling onto the bottom cookies.

Source:  Whoopie Pies for the cakes and Martha Stewart for the filling

Leave a comment

18 Comments

  1. These are little pies of heaven no doubt – adore the wonderful specks of cookies cream :D

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Reply
  2. Very very cute.. I also like them, though I have never made them.. :)

    Reply
    • Thanks Medeja! I agree. I think whoopie pies are just adorable! You should give them a try. I know you’ll love them! :D

      Reply
  3. I really like the fluff and the oreo mixture for the filling-it sounds amazing. Also, the cake part does look moist and rich. No doubt this combo makes for one amazing treat.

    Reply
  4. Thanks Tina. Yes the marshmallow is a perfect compliment to the Oreo. The cake is so rich with chocolate flavor and moist…it’s just delicious!

    Reply
  5. These are adorable! One of my boys loves all things cookies and cream. He’d love these!

    Reply
    • Thanks Valerie. I’m sure he will. They were really delicious. My husband doesn’t even like chocolate and he couldn’t stop eating them! :D

      Reply
  6. The soft and fluffy marshmallow filling is a must to eat with this chocolaty whoopie pie. Chocolate and cookie and cream are always extra delicious together.

    Reply
  7. CookiesNCream

     /  October 26, 2012

    I really want some now. Please!!! :D

    Reply
  8. katherine

     /  October 28, 2012

    I made these for my better half’s family for the early thanksgiving dinner. They loved them I was chastised for not making more lol a lot of people had nilo idea what a whoopie pie was but I was glad to share a but of my childhood with them

    Reply
  9. Katie

     /  March 10, 2013

    These look so good! This may be a dumb question, but did you use just the cookie part of the oreo or the whole oreo?

    Reply
  10. IMBORED

     /  October 20, 2013

    the cookie part of my whoopie pie is flat like pancake but taste great anyways… why ? i added baking soda

    Reply
  11. Britney

     /  April 10, 2014

    this recipe looks really good but I was wondering if we ‘needed’ to use vegetable shortening in this recipe?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,115 other followers

